Button receives Hawthorn Trophy

8th July 2007

Jenson Button receives Hawthorn Trophy with MSA British Race Elite drivers
British Formula 1 star Jenson Button was presented with the coveted Hawthorn Memorial Trophy on Thursday for his performances in 2006. The Honda Racing F1 Team driver received the trophy from Colin Hilton – Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association – in advance of this weekend’s British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain’s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

Jenson was presented with the trophy in the company of the first recruits to the MSA’s British Race Elite programme. Launched at the start of this year, the Race Elite scheme has selected six of the brightest young prospects in UK motor racing to put them through a structured programme of development to maximise their chances of making it to the very top of the sport.

“Jenson rose through the ranks of British motor sport and we were delighted to see him claim his maiden victory in Hungary last year,” commented Colin Hilton, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association. "The British motor sport scene is still the best in the world as illustrated by the fact that no fewer than nine of the current F1 grid cut their teeth in our championships.

“The MSA is also committed to securing increased British representation at the highest level of motor sport and as a result we have invested substantial funds into both the Race Elite programme and its sister operation in rallying. We hope that in the coming years, many of these young drivers will graduate to F1 and race alongside Jenson, Lewis, Anthony and David."

MSA British Race Elite members

Henry Arundel; Sam Bird; Andrew Jordan;

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs; Michael Meadows; Colin Turkington

Previous winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy
1959    Jack Brabham (AUS) *

1960    Jack Brabham (AUS) *

1961    Stirling Moss (GB)

1962    Graham Hill (GB) *

1963    Jim Clark (GB) *

1964    John Surtees (GB) *

1965    Jim Clark (GB) *

1966    Jack Brabham (AUS) *

1967    Denny Hulme (NZ) *

1968    Graham Hill (GB) *

1969    Jackie Stewart (GB) *

1970    Denny Hulme (NZ)

1971    Jackie Stewart (GB) *

1972    Jackie Stewart (GB)

1973    Jackie Stewart (GB) *

1974    Denny Hulme (NZ)

1975    James Hunt (GB)

1976    James Hunt (GB) *

1977    James Hunt (GB)

1978    John Watson (GB)

1979    Alan Jones (AUS)

1980    Alan Jones (AUS) *

1981    A lan Jones (AUS)

1982    John Watson (GB)

1983    John Watson (GB)

1984    Derek Warwick (GB)

1985    Nigel Mansell (GB)

1986    Nigel Mansell (GB)

1987    Nigel Mansell (GB)

1988    Derek Warwick (GB)

1989    Nigel Mansell (GB)

1990    Nigel Mansell (GB)

1991    Nigel Mansell (GB)

1992    Nigel Mansell (GB) *

1993    Damon Hill (GB)

1994    Damon Hill (GB)

1995    Damon Hill (GB)

1996    Damon Hill (GB) *

1997    Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *

1998    David Coulthard (GB)

1999    Eddie Irvine (GB)

2000    David Coulthard (GB)

2001    David Coulthard (GB)

2002    David Coulthard (GB)

2003    David Coulthard (GB)

2004    Jenson Button (GB)

2005    Jenson Button (GB)

2006    Jenson Button (GB)

* = world champion