Britpart MSA British Cross-Country

Round 1 - BADEN HALL (Staffordshire)

Deeside's Neil Davey clinched a dramatic last run victory in the opening round of the 2008 Britpart MSA British Cross-Country Championship at Baden Hall in Staffordshire on Sunday (April 13th). Huddersfield's Richard Kershaw eventually finished four seconds behind in second place and Holywell's Tim Dilworth completed the podium at the wheel of his Peugeot 206 STi, although had he not clipped a tree on the final corner of the last run, a potential victory had been in sight. He finished a mere one second behind Kershaw's Peugeot 206 Evo9 after a thrilling finale to the event organised by Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management.

Muddy conditions prevailed throughout the weekend, but they did not prevent Ambaston's Steven Lloyd from taking victory in the Trophy category and Leamington Spa's Charlie Evans from winning the Clubman event in his Rakeway Ridgeback.

"The conditions were never going to be easy, but it was a great result and the perfect start to the season for me," said a delighted Davey. "It was close right down to the final corner of the last run and that means we could be in for an exciting year."

EVENT RESULTS 1. Neil Davey (Deeside)                                   GSR 206 Evo                           43m 54s

2. Richard Kershaw (Huddersfield)                 Peugeot 206 Evo9                   43m 58s

3. Tim Dilworth (Holywell)                                Peugeot 206 STi                      43m 59s

4. Dan Lofthouse (Bamber Bridge)                  Lofthouse Proto LD4               44m 55s

5. Simon Bown (Clay Cross)                           Land Rover Special                 45m 44s

6. Dan Evans (Skipton)                                    Matseratti                                 46m 15s