Porsche Club Racers Set for Oulton

The 2008 Porsche Club Championship is probably the strongest it has been in several seasons, with the previous champions from the last three years now all battling for overall victory in Class One, and this Saturday's (April 19th) visit to Oulton Park should see some exciting race action.

Mark McAleer leads the championship point table after Ian White, who won the two opening Club Championship races at Donington, was removed from the results due to a technical irregularity on his new 964 C2. 2006 champion White had immediately struck up his old rivalry with last year's winner McAleer, White outrunning the 968 CS of  McAleer who had to settle for a brace of second places on the road.

Class One has 19 runners, with the 968 CS having become the car of choice in recent seasons. Noticeable at Donington was White using his 964s rear-engined traction to make the best of the start in each race, and if he qualifies near the front the 968s will have to work hard to lead him into Old Hall at the start. 

Other drivers to watch for in the class include 2005 overall champion Tom Segrue, last year's Class Two champion Ben Demetriou who has stepped up to the top class, and series returnee Marcus Carniel. Just a spectator at Donington, Knutsford-based Marcus is out in a 964 and should be right up with the front-runners. Another driver who should entertain will be John Williams, enjoying himself taking on far newer cars in his 1972 911 Carrera.

The Porsche Club Championship Class Two runners join the Porsche Open field due to pressure of numbers, adding 12 cars to that race. With a separate start, they have a rare opportunity to have their own race and should provide a good battle. Trevor Lewis is always quick in his 944 S2, while opposition should come from Mike Clapham, Charles Winterhalder amongst others.

Jeremy Clark and Sarah Bennett-Baggs shared Class Three honours at Donington, the latter winning the class just second time out in her distinctive pink 911.

Qualifying for the Porsche Club Championship race is at 08.30 on Saturday morning, with the race itself at 13.05. The Class Two runners will qualify at 12.00 and race at 17.25.