Baguette shines in front of home crowd

WoSbR 3.5  Spa-Francorchamps – Race 1

As winner, Bertrand Baguette (International Draco Racing) has paid back the large numbers of home fans who have come to Spa-Francorchamps in the best possible way. The Belgian avoided the many pitfalls of the circuit to finish ahead of Salvador Duran ( Racing Team) and Guillaume Moreau (KTR).

Fine weather, crowds who turned out en mass, the conditions were perfect for this first race. The first eight of the SuperPole started in reverse order, so it was Miguel Molina (Prema Powerteam) who started in pole position in front of Salvador Duran, Bertrand Baguette and Julien Jousse (Tech1 Racing).

Miguel Molina, Salvador Duran, Bertrand Baguette, Julien Jousse and Giedo Van der Garde made perfect starts, in the main group, Robert Wickens (Carlin Motorsport), Fabio Carbone (Ultimate Signaute) and Boja Garcia (RC Motorsport) clashed at la Source.

Miguel Molina completed his first lap in the lead, closely followed by Duran, Jousse and Van der Garde, while Baguette slipped back from third to fifth place. Van der Garde then attacked Jousse, to gain third place.

Miguel Molina picked up a «Drive Through» penalty for a jump start, handing over the leadership to Salvador Duran at the end of the fourth lap. The Mexican took control ahead of Julien Jousse, Giedo Van der Garde, Bertrand Baguette and Guillaume Moreau

Further back, the battle for tenth place was no less exciting. There was little to separate Marcos Martinez (Pons Racing), Charles Pic (Tech1 Racing), Marco Barba (International Draco Racing) and Alexandre Marsoin (Epsilon Euskadi). On the eighth lap, Charles Pic attacked Marcos Martinez. The two cars connected and Pic's rolled off the track. More shaken than hurt, the young Tech1 Racing driver escaped unharmed. Marco Barba ran into a gravel trap while trying to avoid them. The safety car was brought out ahead of Salvador Duran, Julien Jousse, Giedo Van der Garde, Bertrand Baguette, Guillaume Moreau, Mikhail Aleshin (Carlin Motorsport), Marco Bonanomi, Alexandre Marsoin, Pablo Sanchez ( Racing Team) and Mario Romancini (Epsilon Euskadi).

Salvador Duran held on to his lead for the restart. Giedo Van der Garde drew level with Julien Jousse at Blanchimont. At full speed, the two men collided, not aware of each other. The safety car was brought back onto the track. Salvador Duran was still in the lead, but behind him positions had changed. Bertrand Baguette took second, Guillaume Moreau third. Mikhail Aleshin and Marco Bonanomi completed the top five.

Duran once again held his first position for the restart. Spurred on by his public, Bertrand Baguette attacked the lead. Twice, Baguette drew alongside Duran who resisted. On the following lap, at the bus-stop chicane, Baguette found an opening and took control. The crowd went wild. The race was on for fourth place too, as Bonanomi passed Aleshin.

The Belgian, Bertrand Baguette, won a key victory in front of his public. Salvador Duran settled for second position, while Guillaume Moreau held off Marco Bonanomi right to the finish. Alexandre Marsoin, sixth, finished top Rookie.

Bertrand Baguette: »After the first lap I was quiet worried as Jousse and Van der Garde had overtaken me. Then the car started going very well. I profited from the mistakes of the other drivers. It's all gone my way today, for once I've got nothing to complain about. My car was very quick, and the team has worked hard. It's terrific to get a home win!»

Salvador Duran: «After Monza, we were quite disappointed by our performance. We're back. I drove the race trying to be serious without making any mistakes. After the second safety car, I couldn't hold off Bertrand. I made a mistake, he did well from it»

Guillaume Moreau: «We have had technical problems all season. We've lost time but we have put things right. This podium place is encouraging for the future.»

Pos Number Driver  Team  Laps Time GapFirst KPH 

1 3 Bertrand BAGUETTE INTERNATIONAL DRACO RACIN 20 47:46.817 - 200.3   2 19 Salvador DURAN INTERWETTEN.COM RACING 20 47:49.415 +2.598 200.0   3 17 Guillaume MOREAU KTR 20 47:51.060 +4.243 199.8   4 25 Marco BONANOMI RED DEVIL TEAM COMTEC 20 47:51.346 +4.529 199.1   5 5 Mikhail ALESHIN CARLIN MOTORSPORT 20 47:52.613 +5.796 199.2   6 8 Alexandre MARSOIN EPSILON-EUSKADI 20 47:53.719 +6.902 198.9   7 14 Maximo CORTES PONS RACING 20 47:54.421 +7.604 198.4   8 20 Pablo SANCHEZ INTERWETTEN.COM RACING 20 47:55.468 +8.651 197.9   9 9 Miguel MOLINA PREMA POWERTEAM 20 47:56.275 +9.458 200.3   10 7 Mario ROMANCINI EPSILON-EUSKADI 20 47:57.862 +11.045 198.1   11 16 Daniil MOVE KTR 20 48:00.732 +13.915 198.3   12 28 Claudio CANTELLI ULTIMATE-SIGNATURE 20 48:02.078 +15.261 197.9   13 26 Pasquale DiSABATINO RED DEVIL TEAM COMTEC 20 48:02.261 +15.444 198.4   14 6 Robert WICKENS CARLIN MOTORSPORT 20 48:02.647 +15.830 199.2   15 27 Fabio CARBONE ULTIMATE-SIGNATURE 20 48:03.203 +16.386 200.0   16 22 Pippa MANN P1 MOTORSPORT 19 48:10.356 1 Lap 196.5     24 Julian THEOBALD FORTEC MOTORSPORT 15 37:19.090   196.2     1 Julien JOUSSE TECH 1 RACING 11 26:05.241   199.8     21 Giedo Van Der GARDE P1 MOTORSPORT 11 26:05.730   200.4     2 Charles PIC TECH 1 RACING 8 17:08.289   199.4     15 Marcos MARTINEZ PONS RACING 8 17:08.675   198.9     4 Marco BARBA INTERNATIONAL DRACO RACING 8 17:09.442   199.2     11 Aleix ALCARAZ RC MOTORSPORT 7 15:06.825   198.1     12 Borja GARCIA RC MOTORSPORT 1 2:34.707         23 James WALKER FORTEC MOTORSPORT 0           10 Alvaro BARBA PREMA POWERTEAM 0