Nicholson McLaren MSA British Hillclimb

Rounds 7 & 8, Gurston Down, near Salisbury, Wiltshire - May 25th

On a rain affected but drying track Trevor Willis took a full wet tyre choice to take a well deserved round 7 victory but later the performance of the day was by Martin Groves. His comeback from a morning shunt without qualification for round 7 ended with Best Time of the Day on the very last run of the day for round 8 victory.

After the lunch break, qualification to the second run-off began and spectators after seeing the morning wreck recovered were amazed to see both Groves and car partner Paul Ranson take to the hill after a couple of hours hard work for them and their helpers using the available spare parts package. But despite the hard work, championship leader Scott Moran packed his 17 points for the weekend to pull further away from the rest with Groves still back in fifth.

Round 7

1 Trevor Willis (2.8 OMS-Powertec) 31.05s; 2 Basil Pitt (2.8 Gould-NME GR55) 31.93s; 3 Scott Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 32.08s; 4 Paul Haimes (2.0 Dallara-Opel F301) 32.61s; 5 Roger Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 32.68s; 6 Tim Wilson (OMS-Suzuki) 33.41s; 7 Jos Goodyear (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP97) 33.93s; 8 Eynon Price (OMS-Suzuki) 34.00s; 9 Chris Merrick (4.0 Gould-Judd EV GR55) 34..13s;10 Rob Turnbull (3.5 Gould-Cosworth GR55) 37.06s; 11 Deryk Young (4.0 Gould-Judd GR51B) Fail;12 Paul Ranson (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) .

Round 8

1 Martin Groves (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 26.50s Best Time of Day; 2 Scott Moran 26.73s; 3 Merrick 27.50s; 4 Goodyear 27.75s; 5 Roger Moran 27.77s; 6 Ranson 27.85s; 7 Willis 27.91s; 8 Turnbull 28.18s; 9 Pitt 29.86s; 10 Alastair Crawford (3.5 Gould-Cosworth GR37) 30.14s; 11 Tom New (2.0 Pilbeam-Rover KV6 MP88) 30.77s; 12 Young 32.12s.