Pirelli MSA Gravel Rally Championship

Round 4 - Severn Valley National Rally, Builth Wells

Making it four different winners in the opening four rounds, Herefordshire driver Andy Burton claimed maximum points in the 2008 Pirelli MSA Gravel Rally Championship as he won this weekend's Severn Valley National Rally.

Driving the Peugeot Cosworth, Burton, and co-driverShelley Rogerson, finished nearly 25 seconds ahead of series leaders Jon Ingram and Ian Allsop after taking charge at the top of the leaderboard from the outset and never looking back despite concerns about their new engine making the distance.

Ingram and Allsop (Subaru Impreza WRC) came home ahead of defending champions Marcus Dodd and Andrew Bargery (Hyundai Accent WRC) after Dodd had earlier been hampered by a problem with the boost control pipe, which the HPM Motorsport team managed to fix at second service.

Julian Reynolds and Patrick Walsh were fourth in their Subaru Impreza WRC. They had a relatively trouble-free run with the exception of a slight off in stage six and were followed home by round three winners, Roger Duckworth and Mark Broomfield.

The Pirelli MSA Gravel RallyChampionship returns for round five, the Swansea Bay National Rally on Saturday19 July.


1, Andy Burton/Shelley Rogerson (Peugeot-Cosworth) 1h:05m:17.8s

2, Jon Ingram/Ian Allsop (Subaru Impreza WRC)1:05:42.6

3, Marcus Dodd/Andrew Bargery (Hyundai Accent WRC)1:06:18.1

4, Julian Reynolds/Patrick Walsh (Subaru Impreza WRC)1:06:34.7

5, Roger Duckworth/Mark Broomfield (Subaru Impreza WRC)1:06:35.5

6, David Bogie/Kevin Rae (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9)1:07:14.9

7, Richard Cathcart/Martin Brady (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9)1:07:30.9

8, Stephen Moore/Tony McHugh (Ford Focus WRC 06)1:07:38.8

9,Keith Cronin/Greg Shinnors (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9)1:07:45.3

10, NikElsmore/Craig Drew (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9)1:08:10.3