Nicholson McLaren Hillclimb Championship

Rounds 11 & 12 - Loton Park, June 7th & 8th

Scott Moran broke the outright hill record at Loton Park with safe qualification then a storming run in first run-off taking the record of four years by 0.34 seconds. Defending champion Martin Groves finished out of the points after taking to the grass in round 11 run-off. He came back to win round 12 but with Moran only 0.1 second behind and finishing the day with 20 points to Groves 10 points Moran pulled away from the rest of the pack.

Trevor Willis continued his best ever season with two third places taking 16 points on the day. Scott's father Roger had slipped out of the top three after last weekend but fought back to third equal with Martin Groves. Chris Merrick was close to victory being fastest qualifying for round 12 but slid during his run but did gain two 5ths on the day. Great effort from Jos Goodyear grabbing 2nd and 4th on his best ever weekend.

Despite other drivers' achievements on the day Robert Kenrick was justly man of the meeting for spectacular efforts in the tiny 1.6 litre Force in both run-offs again and he scored two points in each round.

Round 11

1 Scott Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 44.56s Best Time of Day and New Outright Hill Record; 2 Jos Goodyear (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP97) 45.04s; 3 Trevor Willis (2.8 OMS-Powertec) 45.39s; 4 Roger Moran (3.5 Gould-NME

GR61) 45.71s; 5 Chris Merrick (4.0 Gould-Judd EV GR55) 45.91s; 6 Deryk Young (4.0 Gould-Judd GR51B) 45.94s; 7 Paul Ranson (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 45.96s; 8 Basil Pitt (2.8 Gould-NME GR55) 46.87s;9 Robert Kenrick (1.6 Force-Suzuki PC) 46.98s; 10 Paul Haimes (2.0 Dallara-Opel F301) 47.11s; 11Mark Coley (2.5 Gould-Opel GR55) 47.16s; 12 Martin Groves (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 47.50s.

Round 12

1 Groves 45.05s; 2 Scott Moran 45.06s; 3 Willis 45.61s; 4 Goodyear 45.73s; 5 Merrick 45.79s; 6 R Moran 45.91s; 7 Young 46.38s; 8 Ranson 46.94s; 9 Kenrick 47.02s; 10 Haimes 47.09s; 11 Pitt 47.33s; 12 Coley 50.05s.

Championship Points:

1 Scott Moran 115pts;

2 Willis 80pts;

3= Roger Moran 73pts;

3= Groves 73pts;

5 Merrick 72pts;

6 Goodyear 54;

7 Ranson 47pts;

8 Young 42pts

Championship positions after round 2 of 6 (unofficial):

1. Richard Kershaw 167pts

2. Tim Dilworth 155

3. Neil Davey 143

4. Dan Lofthouse 137

5. Martin Gould 133 

Related Motorsport Articles

82,683 articles