Britpart MSA British Cross-Country

2008 Britpart MSA British Cross-Country Championship - Driffield - round 2: June 7th-8th, 2008

DRIFFIELD (Yorkshire): Huddersfield's Richard Kershaw benefited from warm, sunny conditions to clinch victory in the second round of the 2008 Britpart MSA British Cross-Country Championship (BCCC) at Driffield in Yorkshire on Sunday. At the wheel of his Peugeot 206 Evo9, the experienced BCCC runner duly moved up from second position and into an outright 12-point lead in Great Britain's premier off-road championship after two rounds.

Tim Dilworth and Anthony Brinkman shadowed the Yorkshireman all the way. The Holywell driver brought his Peugeot 206 home in second position and moved up to a similar placing in the championship, with Broadbottom's Martin Gould and Simon Kerfoot completing the podium places in a Milner Protruck.

The event was held over two days at the Ministry of Defence vehicle proving ground at Driffield and 11 runs through the four-mile stage were planned, although a car fire involving Bob Seaman's Bowler Wildcat on Sunday afternoon forced the cancellation of the final run and therefore six runs took place on Saturday and only four on Sunday.

Final positions:

1. Richard Kershaw (Huddersfield)               Peugeot 206 Evo9        1h 17m 50s

2. Tim Dilworth (Holywell)                      Peugeot 206 STi 1h 19m 13s

3. Martin Gould (Broadbottom, Hyde)             Milner Protruck R5      1h 19m 48s

4. John Cockburn (Stirling)                     Tomcat 106 S    1h 21m 15s

5. Ray Kempster (Chipping Norton)               Protruck R4     1h 22m 08s

6. Dan Lofthouse (Bamber Bridge)                Lofthouse Proto LD4     1h 22m 44s

7. Lee Mansfield (Nuneaton)                     Bowler Wildcat 200      1h 26m 09s

8. Ian Gregg (Ravenshead)                       Land Rover      1h 27m 58s

9. Ken Powell (Kegworth)                        Matseratti sri  1h 28m 19s

10. Stephen Smith (Hatton)                      JRG Indy II Special     1h 28m 30s