Chaves, Newgarden on Front Row for Rnd 5

BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda

Gabby Chaves has not lost a race yet this year...

At Mosport, Gabby Chaves put himself in the best position possible to extend his winning streak by taking pole during qualifying for Saturday's race one. Chaves has won three of this year's first four races – every one he's entered. Chaves missed round two at Sebring, having won round one the day before, as the 14-year-old Colombian had a prior commitment to race in Malaysia. So in three starts he's won three times, including both races (rounds three and four) at VIR in April.

Chaves wasted no time putting in his flyer, turning a 1:31.520 about nine minutes into the session. A bunch of the frontrunners were looking to set their best times toward the end of the session as the fuel tanks emptied and they cooled their BFG R1 slicks, but with 6 minutes to go Peter Tucker got it wrong in Turn Nine and collected the wall, putting an end to the qualifier. Second-quick Josef Newgarden put his best time in on the last green flag lap – he was only a 10th away at 1:31.626 -- while third-fastest Chris Holmes's best was on what turned out to be his second to last hot lap.

Completing row two was Shoot-out winner Conner De Phillippi. He had turned the fastest lap of the day, a 1:31.174, in morning practice, but the heat of the afternoon and the lack of opportunity at putting in a flyer at the end of qualifying saw his best time a 1:31.906.

Next were points leader Felipe Polehtto, Conor Daly, Mark Bumgarner, surprise returnee Adam Tran, Hayden Duerson and in tenth, Stevan McAleer.

Friday, June 13, a.m. practice timesBFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by MazdaMosport International Raceway, 2.459-mile, 10-turn road course

1. Conner De Phillippi, 1:31.174, 97.093 mph2. Josef Newgarden, 1:31.3403. Mark Bumgarner, 1:31.5294. Gabby Chaves, 1:31.5375. Hayden Duerson, 1:31.6296. Conor Daly, 1:31.7277. Chris Holmes, 1:32.0648. Felipe Polehtto, 1:32.0869. Stevan McAleer, 1:32.28910. Fabio Orsolon, 1:32.46711. Adam Tran, 1:32.65512. Gustavo Linares, 1:33.41213. Marcio Pasaneli, 1:33.48514. Victor Pedrosa, 1:33.65115. Lee Carpentier, 1:033.69316. Tyler Schaal, 1:33.86917. Nick Tonkin, 1:34.07718. Peter Tucker, 1:34.90319. Dom Bastien, 1:36.781

Friday, June 13, starting grid for Saturday race one following p.m. Q1BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by MazdaMosport International Raceway, 2.459-mile, 10-turn road course

1. Gabby Chaves, 1:31.520, 96.726 mph2. Josef Newgarden, 1:31.6263. Chris Holmes, 1:31.8384. Conner De Phillippi, 1:31.9065. Felipe Polehtto, 1:32.2226. Conor Daly, 1:32.4117. Mark Bumgarner, 1:32.4148. Adam Tran, 1:32.4909. Hayden Duerson, 1:32.63410. Stevan McAleer, 1:32.71011. Nick Tonkin, 1:32.83012. Fabio Orsolon, 1:32.99513. Tyler Schaal, 1:33.69414. Lee Carpentier, 1:033.79815. Marcio Pasaneli, 1:34.08416. Victor Pedrosa, 1:34.35217. Gustavo Linares, 1:34.61618. Peter Tucker, 1:35.09719. Dom Bastien, 1:35.991

Related Motorsport Articles

82,682 articles