V8 Utes-Layton takes a Mother of a win

Race One

Darwin local Layton Crambrook took victory in Race One, Round Four of the Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series at Hidden Valley Raceway.

“It’s been a great day” enthused the  Ford BF driver  who qualified on pole position and held his lead from grid to chequered flag for the first race victory of the weekend.

“Like Grant (Johnson) in Barbagallo, Perth, naturally with the home track advantage I’ve done plenty of laps around the circuit and had no doubt I could hold the lead through to the finish” explained Crambrook of Lamont Constructions Racing. “It’s just icing on the cake to gain such a top result in front o  all the other key supporters we have turning out here in Darwin.”

Reigning Series champion Grant Johnson finished his Grove Juice Holden VE at a close second.

There was an ongoing battle for third place with Martial Arts expert Gary Baxter and Kim “The Assassin” Jane, with Australian NASCAR Champion Jane taking the spot from “Chucky” Baxter on the inside line into turn 1, lap 4.

Robert Jarvis of Billinudgel came together with South Australian Craig Dontas at the first corner forcing Dontas out with a broken wheel and steering rack. The Roaring Lion Ford BF will be repaired in time for tomorrow’s top sixteen reverse grid race two.

Big Gun Racing team mate Brad Patton finished Race One in 16th today putting him on pole position for tomorrow’s race alongside former Waratahs Rugby Union player Ben Dunn.

Gary MacDonald, George Elliot, Scott Jennings all had off track adventures but were able to rejoin the race.

Former Cleo Bachelor of the Year Jack Elsegood set the fastest time in the Coopers Ford  this morning in the third and final practice of the round while qualifying saw Crambrook’s Ford edge out Johnsons Holden  by 2/10ths of second, with Gary Baxter 3rd, ahead of New Zealander Colin Corkery,Kim Jane and Perth star Paul Williams in the Ford BF. Former V8 Supercar Driver Simon Wills qualified 11th in the Nandi Kiss Holden.

Crambrook continues to lead the Championship by 36 points.

Race One Top Ten

Layton CrambrookGrant JohnsonKim JaneGary BaxterRyal HarrisColin CorkeryJack ElsegoodStephen RobinsonSimon WillsYanis Derums

Related Motorsport Articles

82,569 articles