MSA British Autotest Championship

Link Up Ltd MSA British Autotest Championship

Round 4 Hartlepool & DMC - 23rd June

A penalty free day saw Alastair Moffatt take his fourth consecutive win and maintain his perfect run in the 2008 Link Up Ltd MSA British Autotest Championship.  Moffatt was pushed all the way by the similar Mini Special of Dave Mosey, Mosey was fastest on 11 of the 14 tests, but two penalties meant that he finished 3.1 seconds behind Moffatt.  Ashley Lamont continued to impress in the Westfield in his debut season finishing a strong third overall and winning the class by nearly 45 seconds from Stephen Morten.  John Moffatt made up for an earlier mistake to win Class C bringing his Nova home in an excellent sixth overall and has taken over the class lead in the absence of Gavin Dickson. Howard Everingham was the fastest of the Mini's, local driver Tom Hall had headed the class briefly during the morning and was only four seconds adrift at the halfway point, but an error from Hall on test nine saw Everingham open up a 20 second lead and eventually win the class by 39 seconds.

With the best five scores to count Alastair Moffatt is in pole position and could clinch the 2008 title at the next round, the Tim Sargeant Memorial Autotest at Demon Tweeks.


1 Alastair Moffatt        Mini Special        712.3

2 Dave Mosey            Mini Special        715.4

3 Ashley Lamont        Westfield SE       742.2

4 Duncan Wild            ABS                    765.7

5 Steve Morten           Raw Striker         786.8