MSA British Sprint Championship

SBD Motorsport MSA British Sprint Championship

Rounds 8 & 9, Anglesey - 23rd June

The Saturday event at Anglesey was a washout as the organisers quiet rightly pulled the plug after four of the first twenty cars crashed out on a streaming wet track, so Round 8 of the championship was recorded as abandoned. Onto Sunday and after a fraught qualifying Stewart Robb Junior was faced with having to take the fight to reigning champion Matt Oliver. Initially Matt Oliver led after the first runs but young Stewart got his head down and set a new course record en route to an emphatic victory. Matt Oliver drove the wheels off the Gould but had to give second best to the Pilbeam driver. Taking a great third place behind the two youngsters was Stewart Robb Senior who yet again proved he can mix it with the young guns.

Mark Smith's fourth place in the two litre Reynard showed just how competitive the Welshman is. He went on to set new class & championship records despite a morning practice spin on the still damp track. The three 1600 cars in the run-off filled out the top ten with Nick Algar fighting back with a new championship record after a first run spin and pushing the father & son team of David & Scott Pillinger down the order.   

Round 8

Event Abandoned due to rain.

Round 9

1 Stewart Robb Jnr (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP88) 93.18secs;

2 Matt Oliver (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37) 94.59secs;

3 Stewart Robb Snr (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP88) 95.12secs;

4 Mark Smith (2.0 Reynard-Vauxhall 903) 98.41secs;

5 Terry Holmes (3.5 Lola-Judd ERH) 99.44secs;

6 Bill Oliver (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37) 100.58secs;

7 Phil Lynch (3.2 Ralt-Judd RT37) 101.27secs;

8 Nick Algar (1.6 DJ Firehawk-Suzuki) 102.95secs;

9 Dave Pillinger (1.4 Royale-Suzuki RP37) 105.84secs;

10 Scott Pillinger (1.4 Royale-Suzuki RP37) 106.41secs

Related Motorsport Articles

82,683 articles