MSA Asphalt Rally Championship

Richard Egger Insurance MSA Asphalt Rally Championship

Round 4 - Sligo - 13th July

For the second year running, John/Caroline Price took maximum points on this event in their Metro 6R4. But the event was packed with drama and, as a result, Steve Simpson has taken over the championship lead. The Prices finished fourth outright to earn top points, but for most of the day had been trailing Simpson until, on the final stages, his Hyundai Accent WRC suffered a puncture, costing him and co-driver Andrew Roughead over four minutes as they stopped to change the tyre. But the pair still took second-placed points to move to the head of the table at the expense of David Kynaston’s Audi A3 which had crashed out on the first stage. Simon Mauger and Brian Cammack had a puncture and electrical problems with their Ford Escort RS, yet still scooped sufficient points to retain second in the standings.


1 . Adrian McElvaney/Paul Kelly, Subaru Impreza WRC, 1h28m16s

2. Sean Gallagher/Enda Sherry, Subaru Impreza WRC, 1h29m06s

3. T. O’Shaughnnessey/E.McGrath, Toyota Corolla, 1h31m46s

4. John Price/Caroline Price, MG Metro 6R4, 1h31m59s

5. F. Costello/S.Gilhooley, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO9, 1h32m52s

6. Paul Kiely/Pat McSharry, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO9, 1h33m14s

7. David Mann/Alun Cook, Subaru Impreza WRC, 1h33m23s