V8 Utes “Poppa” Corkery celebrates ..

quick time at Queensland Raceway.

New Zealand driver Colin Corkery scored the quickest time at today’s practice for Round 5 of the Yokohama V8 Ute Series at Queensland Raceway. Corkery, in the WPR/Supercharged Batteries FORD was only 3/10ths of a second faster than reigning champion Grant Johnsons Holden.2007 QLD winner, Sage Automations driver Gary Baxter was keeping a consistent pace throughout the day finishing with the 5th fastest in both practice sessions with other strong performances by George Miedecke, Kim Jane, Andrew Fisher and Charlie Kovacs, all within 1 sec of the fastest time.

Queensland local and former V8 Supercar driver Kurt Wimmer had his first on track taste of the V8 Ute category and is looking comfortable after finishing mid-field in both sessions.

In practice two, turn three caught out Green Petroleum’s, Shannan Sidebottom and Ford driver Craig Dontas both coming off track and ending their practice sessions.

“I went for a bit of a spin, which helped to knuckle out a few clutch issues. It is all good now and we are ready to move forward,” Dontas said.

Dontas is excited to have local team-mate Justin Van Twest back by his side with his brand new Capalaba Wreckers car.

“It is good to be racing together again. I guess we will see which car is faster by the end of the week,” Dontas said. Van Twest offered Dontas his Ford after the Roaring Lion Ford was torn up in the Clipsal 500 crash with Matt Kingsley. The Big Gun team has spent the last few months building a brand new FORD XR8 which Van Twest debuted today.

“We had a few dramas in the first session but we managed to source the problem. It is the cars first time on the track and my first time on the track since Adelaide - I finished 15th so I am pretty happy with that. We are looking forward to moving up in the Qualifying,” Van Twest said.

Coopers Pale Ale driver Jack Elsegood continued to have dramas with an ongoing misfire which plagued the front runner during the last round at Darwin. The complete wiring loom will be changed overnight in an effort to cure the problem before qualifying.

Qualifying will begin at 8:55am Saturday followed by:Race One at 12:25pm

Sunday 20th July:8:05am – Race Two12:10am – Race Three

Practice One Results: 1) Colin Corkery         Ford   1:25.08882) George Miedecke Ford  1:25.58103) Jack Elsegood       Ford  1:26.13114) Andrew Fisher          Ford      1:26.23235) Gary Baxter              Holden  1:26.30616) Kim Jane                   Holden  1:26.43897) Layton Crambrook   Ford      1:26.55808) Grant Johnson          Holden  1:26.63819) Robert Jarvis             Holden  1:26.853410) Gary MacDonald    Holden  1:26.9555

Practice Two Results:1) Grant Johnson         Holden   1:25.442) Kim Jane                   Holden   1:25.633) Andrew Fisher          Ford       1:25.964) Charlie Kovacs        Holden   1:26.205) Gary Baxter              Holden   1:26.236) George Miedecke   Ford        1:26.277) Layton Crambrook  Holden   1:26.718) Gary McDonald       Holden   1:26.789) Stephen Robinson  Ford        1:26.84