Solid Knockhill qualifying for VX

Champions VX Racing have qualified all three cars in the top seven for today’s round 22 of the 2008 HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) at Knockhill, Scotland.

Tom Onslow-Cole was VX Racing’s fastest driver and will start today’s first race in fourth position on the grid with a time of 53.441 secs.

With 18 kg of success ballast on board, Matt Neal followed closely with a fifth best time of 53.474 secs, whilst reigning BTCC Drivers' Champion Fabrizio Giovanardi posted seventh fastest (53.477 secs) despite carrying maximum ballast of 45 kg. Pole position was secured by SEAT’s Darren Turner with a time of 53.163 secs.

Fabrizio Giovanardi #1“There wasn’t enough time on the last run to warm the tyres so we couldn’t respond. It’s a shame but we’re not too far from the front and if we avoid trouble in the first few laps, we could benefit from any incidents that may happen.”

Matt Neal #4“The car felt good but we couldn’t match the turbo diesel SEATs today. They have more power and are very quick out of the slow corners as well as up the start/finish straight. We’re at the sharp end of the grid though and that’s good!”

Tom Onslow-Cole #10“I’m reasonably happy with my qualifying performance. If the weather is dry tomorrow, I am in with a good chance of a podium position if not a win. If it’s wet, who knows, anything could happen!”

Provisional Qualifying Results Knockhill – round 221. Darren Turner (SEAT Sport UK), 53.163 secs2. Jason Plato (SEAT Sport UK), 53.176 secs3. Tom Chilton (Team Halfords), 53.281 secs4. Tom Onslow-Cole (VX Racing), 53.441 secs5. Matt Neal (VX Racing), 53.474 secs6. Colin Turkington (Team RAC), 53.475 secs7. Fabrizio Giovanardi (VX Racing), 53.477 secs8. Mat Jackson (BMW Dealer Team UK), 53.481 secs

Rounds 22, 23 and 24 will be held at the Scottish circuit today (Sunday), with the first race starting at 11.10. Live coverage of the racing can be seen on ITV4 on Sunday 17 August from 12.30 to 17.30.