KF1 Double win extends Litchfields lead

Experienced racer Mark Litchfield (Ripley, Derbyshire) extended his lead of the Renault-sponsored British Karting Championship with two commanding race victories at Larkhall in Lanarkshire on 17th August.

Starting the first of two championship races at the Scottish circuit in third place, Litchfield moved ahead of rivals Lee Bell (High Wycombe) and Chris Rogers (Waltham Cross, Hertfordshire) to win the race. In the second race, Litchfield converted pole position to victory.

Behind him Lee Bell, Jonathan Walker (Dinkley, Blackburn) and Chris Rogers are in close competition for the runners-up spot in the championship. Walker climbed from 8th on the grid in the first final to finish second, and dropped a place at the hands of a fast-moving Sam Tordoff (Leeds) to finish in third in the second final.

Walker’s two podium finishes at Larkhall puts him just two points behind Bell in the championship standings. Bell just managed to hold on to second place in the title race at Larkhall after a pair of disappointing races. Bell started the first final in pole position, but dropped to fifth at the chequered flag. In his next race he fell further back, finishing ninth.

Chris Rogers remains in the thick of the chasing pack, and would have been even better placed in the title hunt if he could have repeated his 3rd place finish from the first final at Larkhall. Unfortunately Rogers retired from the second final two laps from the end, costing him valuable championship points.

Sam Tordoff (Leeds) made impressive progress through the field in both races, moving from 10th on the grid to finish 6th in the first final, then moving up to second place in final two. Meanwhile Jordan Lennox-Lamb (Bedford) struggled to realise the full potential from his qualifying heats. He started the first final in pole position and finished 4th, and retired on lap 10 of the second final.

Elliot Burton (Sawtry, Cambs) was excluded from the first final because of a technical infringement, but recovered well in the second final from 13th on the grid to finish 4th.

KF1 provisional championship points: 1 Mark Litchfield 385pts; 2 Lee Bell 352pts; 3 Jonathan Walker 350pts; 4 Chris Rogers 346pts; 5 Sam Tordoff 332pts; 6 Jordan Lennox-Lamb 330pts.

For all the latest KF1, KF2 and KF3 karting news visit the official Renault Sport UK website www.renaultsport.co.uk

built by Racecar

Related Motorsport Articles

84,628 articles