KF3 Dennis joins winners list

Nuneaton kart racer Jake Dennis became the fifth different driver to win a race in the close-fought British junior karting championship, sponsored by Renault, at Larkhall in Lanarkshire on 17th August.

Dennis’ first race win in the new KF2 formula was in the second of two championship races at the Scottish circuit and followed a pole position and second place finish the first final. The results elevate him to 4th in the championship standings with four races to go.

Carl Stirling (Moira, Craigavon), leads the championship and won his third race of the season at Larkhall. He drove a storming race in the first final, climbing from 7th on the grid to take the lead and victory. In the second final he gave way to Dennis and Macaulay Walsh (Northampton), who also enjoyed a meteoric rise through the field during the races at Larkhall. Walsh started the first final in 20th place and climbed to 5th, then moved from 5th to 2nd in final two.

Stirling enjoys a comfortable 24 point lead in the title table ahead of Mackenzie Taylor (Ashford, Middlesex) who finished a consistent 4th pace in both races.

Alexander Albon (Bures, Suffolk) retains third place in the junior national karting championship with a 3rd and 5th place finish at Larkhall, while Lewis Hall climbed into the top six with 11th and 7th place finishes.

John Norris (Sutton Wick, Bristol) had a troubled weekend, finishing 23rd in the first final and 17th in the second, leaving him 6th in the championship, while Rikki Gordon (Portglenone, Co Antrim) finished both finals in a solid 6th place.

KF3 provisional championship points: 1 Carl Stirling 377pts; 2 Mackenzie Taylor 353pts; 3 Alexander Albon 343pts; 4 Jake Dennis 223pts; 5 Lewis Hall 296; 6. John Norris 289pts.

For all the latest KF1, KF2 and KF3 karting news visit the official Renault Sport UK website


built by Racecar