MSA British Hillclimb Championship

Nicholson McLaren Aviation MSA British Hillclimb Championship

Rounds 29 & 30, September 7th - Prescott Hillclimb nr Cheltenham

The meeting may have survived the atrocious weather that dogged the area for several days, but the whole weekend was affected on track and also in the paddock and spectator car parks which resembled a Glastonbury-style mud bath. Officials and Marshals deserve high praise for ensuring that the event ran so well in dreadful conditions after the course sustained damage by errant cars at the early end to Saturday practice.

Martin Groves won round 29 using all of his track craft. The long journey south was worth it for Graeme Wight Junior in the sonorous self-built Predator V10. He demonstrated that the launch and traction control set-up is now working perfectly. With his best ever score, Man of the Meeting Will Hall showed the way to the top with only 1300cc of standard Suzuki power ahead of more powerful opposition. Newly crowned MSA Champion Scott Moran failed to qualify with a cautious class run.

By the later round 30, conditions had improved but the damp still had some effect. Scott Moran was pleased to manage second place. After suffering a bad round 29, Trevor Willis bagged the round 30 win with Best Time of the Day perfectly using the power from the bik- derived V8 and the sweet handling of the OMS chassis.

Round 29

1 Martin Groves (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 43.92s; 2 Graeme Wight Junior (3.0 GWR Predator-Arrows-Hart) 44.53s; 3 Will Hall (1.3 Force-Suzuki PC) 44.57s; 4 Roger Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 44.58s; 5 Chris Merrick (4.0 Gould-Judd EV GR55) 44.93s; 6 Mark Coley (2.5 Gould-Opel GR55) 45.14s; 7 Tim Wilson (1.4 OMS-Suzuki) 45.28s; 8 Paul Haimes (2.0 Dallara-Opel F301) 45.35s; 9 Trevor Willis (2.8 OMS-Powertec) 45.59s; 10 Eynon Price (1.6 OMS-Suzuki) 46.28s; 11 Steve Owen (1.7 OMS-Suzuki) 46.91s; 12 Basil Pitt (2.8 Gould-NME GR55) 47.15s.

Round 30

1 Willis 39.65s Best Time of Day; 2 Scott Moran 40.37s; 3 Groves 40.57s; 4 Merrick 41.35s; 5 Wight 41.54s; 6 Coley 41.62s; 7 Jos Goodyear (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP97) 41.73s; 8 Roger Moran 41.80s; 9 Pitt 42.01s; 10 Wilson 42.47s; 11 Young 42.94s; 12 Price 43.42s

Championship Points:

1 Scott Moran 271pts;

2 Groves 207pts;

3 Willis 198pts;

4 Roger Moran 181pts;

5 Merrick 170pts;

6 Jos Goodyear 114pts;

7 Ranson 99pts;

8 Basil Pitt 86pts;

9 Deryk Young 66pts;

10 Paul Haimes 48pts.