MSA British Historic Rally

Dunlop/Gambia MSA British Historic Rally Championship - Round 8; Trackrod Historic Cup, 27 September

Nick Elliott and Dave Price scored a mighty debut victory on their first foray into the Dunlop/Gambia MSA British Historic Rally Championship. The Cheltenham crew took their Ford Escort Mk2 to a commanding win on the Trackrod Historic Cup in Yorkshire on Saturday. Elliott took the lead on the opening forest stage and went further clear when local aces Darren Moon and John McNichol were hit by a puncture for their Escort. Steven Smith/John Nichols took category two in their Porsche 911RS, while Patrick Watts/Elgan Davies blitzed category one in their Sunbeam Tiger.


Category one

1 Patrick Watts/Elgan Davies (Sunbeam Tiger)

2 Bob Bean/Malcolm Smithson (Ford Lotus Cortina)

3 Dessie Nutt/Geraldine McBride (Porsche 911)

Category two

1 Steven Smith/John Nichols (Porsche 911RS)

2 Tim Mason/Graham Wild (Porsche 911RS)

3 Peter Smith/Russ Langthorne (Ford Escort Mk1)                

Category three

1 Nick Elliott/Dave Price (Ford Escort Mk2)

2 Dick Slaughter/Geoff Dearing (Ford Escort Mk2)

3 Simon Tysoe/Rob Dyson (Ford Escort Mk2)

Related Motorsport Articles

83,167 articles