Rossi puts an end to the suspense

Eurocup Mégane Trophy - Barcelona Race 1

While Dimitri Enjalbert (Tech 1 Racing) was bursting with joy at the finish for winning for the second time this season, the happiest driver at the end of this race was Michaël Rossi (TDS). Taking advantage of Maxime Martin's (Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing) retirement, Michaël Rossi won the Eurocup Mégane Trophy 2008.

Starting from pole, Dimitri Enjalbert took the lead, however in third place on the start grid Michaël Rossi drew level with him. Enjalbert resisted and kept his cool. Maxime Martin headed for third position ahead of Jonathan Hirschi (Tech 1 Racing) and Matthieu Cheruy (Tech 1 Racing).  Sébastien Dhouailly (Team Lompech) collided with Cheruy who fell way back in the race order.

Not content with second place, Michaël Rossi looked for a way past. Enjalbert wasnt going to take it lying down. The leader of the Eurocup Mégane Trophy was overtaken lap after lap by Jonathan Hirschi then Maxime Martin. Rossi responded by overtaking Martin. Sébastien Dhouailly also took advantage of the situation. Martin was therefore relegated to fifth place.

While his rivals lost time in an indecisive battle, Dimitri Enjalbert increased his lead. Michaël Rossi climbed back to second place after overtaking Hirschi. Hirschi now had to hold of attacks from Martin. Martin tried to push too hard but was unable to pull it off. The Belgian collided with Jonathan Hirschi and lost several places.

Maxime Martin fought back as best he could, but the damages to his car proved to be too great forcing him to give up. Michaël Rossi, who finished on the podium in second place despite his mandatory pit-stop, is sure to clinch the Eurocup Mégane Trophy title.

Behind Dimitri Enjalbert and Michaël Rossi, Jonathan Hirschi, Sébastien Dhouailly and Matthieu Lahaye (Tech 1 Racing) battled for the third podium spot. Hirschi held onto his spot on the podium, whilst Lahaye slipped past Dhouailly in the second-to-last lap.

Dimitri Enjalbert was not worried and claimed his second victory of the season. Finishing in second place, Michaël Rossi added the first title of his motor sport career to the list. Amongst today's winners, Jean-Philippe Madonia (TDS) was the first driver to claim victory in the Gentlemen Drivers category. The TDS team also pocketed two title from this first race. The Team title will be up for grabs during the last race of the season.

According to Michaël Rossi, «It's a special day, it's the first title I have won in my career. The start of the race was difficult because the track was tricky. When they told me that Maxime Martin wouldn't be scoring any points today, I knew that it was absolutely essential for me to finish on the podium. I really worked hard without taking any risks. I'm happy for my team, my friends and family and everyone else that has supported me.»

According to Dimitri Enjalbert, «It was the most difficult race of the season. Many parts of the track were wet, we all made mistakes at the beginning of the race. The Tech 1 Racing team have earned this victory for all the hard work they've put in this season. We weren't lucky this time but they all did a great job.»

According to Jonathan Hirschi, I'm happy to be back on the podium. Maxime Martin drew level with me and touched me. I went spinning off and that's when I hit him again. It's the sort of collision that happens on difficult tracks.»

Pos Number Driver  Team  Laps Time GapFirst KPH 

1 1 Dimitri ENJALBERT Tech 1 Racing 1 22 43:32.055 - 145.9   2 12 Michaël ROSSI TDS 22 43:38.255 +6.200 145.8   3 3 Jonathan HIRSCHI Tech 1 Racing 2 22 43:45.320 +13.265 145.3   4 22 Matthieu LAHAYE Tech 1 Racing 2 22 43:48.820 +16.765 145.6   5 15 Sébastien DHOUAILLY Team Lompech Sport 22 43:53.971 +21.916 145.9   6 2 Matthieu CHERUY Tech 1 Racing 1 22 44:00.790 +28.735 145.4   7 7 Bernhard TEN BRINKE Equipe Verschuur 1 22 44:01.416 +29.361 144.3   8 26 Simone DI LUCA Oregon Team 22 44:32.415 +1:00.360 143.7   9 9 David DERMONT Boutsen Energy Racing 22 44:35.199 +1:03.144 142.8   10 24 Fabrice WALFISCH Oregon Team 1 22 44:37.325 +1:05.270 145.1   11 14 Jean - Philippe MADONIA TDS 22 45:28.094 +1:56.039 142.5   12 25 Robert VAN DE BERG Oregon Team 21 43:33.230 1 Lap 142.5   13 4 Bernard DELHEZ Tech 1 Racing 2 21 43:45.596 1 Lap 139.7   14 73 Angelo BAIGUERA Oregon Team 1 21 44:45.651 1 Lap 136.9   15 17 Pierre HIRSCHI Team Lompech Sport 21 45:01.552 1 Lap 140.0   16 20 Wim BEELEN Equipe Verschuur 2 20 43:45.223 2 Laps 132.7   17 6 Harrie KOLEN Equipe Verschuur 1 20 44:16.855 2 Laps 131.6   18 16 Jean - Charles MIGINIAC Team Lompech Sport 20 45:03.026 2 Laps 137.3   19 10 Nicolas MAULINI Race Performance 19 40:22.517 3 Laps 143.3     8 Maxime MARTIN Boutsen Energy Racing 11 22:44.944   145.3     21 Hoevert VOS Equipe Verschuur 2 9 18:50.687   139.9     11 Andreas MAYERL Race Performance 2 4:04.252   143.6     18 Rafael UNZURRUNZAGA Blue Jumeirah Team 2 11:23.201      

Related Motorsport Articles

84,731 articles