Chevrolet wins FIA ETCC Cup

Michael Nykjær Storms To Second Consecutive Title

Danish driver Michael Nykjær has won his second consecutive

European Touring Car Cup at the Salzburgring, driving a Chevrolet Denmark-run Lacetti. Nykjær won the first round and finished second in the second race, scoring enough points to beat SEAT driver Oscar Nogues in the final standings.

The ETCC is an annual one-off event, grouping touring cars from different countries which host national championships. This year competitors from Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal, Russia, Sweden and the United Kingdom were invited. Apart from cars built to S2000 specifications – like the current generation WTCC cars – cars from the Super Production and S1600 classes are also eligible.

Michael Nykjær had qualified on pole position and managed to keep his car in front in the first race, beating Richard Göransson by a mere two tenths after a race-long neck and neck battle which saw both drivers lead on occasion.

In the second race, Nykjær managed to avoid the first corner mayhem and tucked in behind occasional WTCC driver Oscar Nogues’ SEAT Leon. His second place was enough to beat Nogues in the point standings and take home a second FIA European Touring Car Cup.

• QUOTESMichael Nykjær (1 st /2 nd ): “It is unbelievable to have won the ETCC for the second timerunning, especially after one of the craziest races I have ever raced. In the first race, Richard(Göransson) and I swapped positions continuously until on the penultimate lap I passed him forgood. On that last lap I had to close the door in almost every corner but I managed to keep himat bay until the end. In the second race I could avoid the cars going off in the first corner at thestart and quickly worked my way up to second, which I knew was good enough to win the cup.”

SALZBURGRING RACE 1 RESULTS1. M Nykjær Chevrolet Lacetti 12 laps in 17m51s5942. R Göransson BMW 320si +0s1903. O Nogues SEAT Leon +11s5064. K Poulsen BMW 320si +14s7205. C Campanico BMW 320si +15s0966. J Møller Honda Accord Euro R +29s7397. M Eskilinen BMW 320si +30s3638. J Nilsson BMW 320si +30s703

SALZBURGRING RACE 2 RESULTS1. O Nogues SEAT Leon 12 laps in 18m05s2322. M Nykjær Chevrolet Lacetti +3s3133. R Göransson BMW 320si +6s5024. F Engstler BMW 320si +6s8145. T Engstrom Honda Accord Euro R +17s5046. J Møller Honda Accord Euro R +18s0957. C Campanico BMW 320si +18s3168. M Eskelinen BMW 320si +38s397

FINAL DRIVERS POINTS STANDINGS1. M Nykjaer (Chevrolet) 18pts; 2. O Nogues (SEAT), 16; 3. R Göransson (BMW), 14; 4. CCampanico (BMW), 6; 5. J Möller (Honda), 6;…

Related Motorsport Articles

83,294 articles