Carrera Cup GB winners celebrated

The award winners from the 2008 Porsche Carrera Cup GB were celebrated during the championship's annual awards dinner at the Whittlebury Hall near Silverstone on Saturday evening (1 November).Along with cheques for over £60,000 in end-of-season prize money, the keys for three brand new road-going Porsche 911s were presented to overall champion Tim Harvey, pro-am1 winner Nigel Rice and Stuart Parker of Team Parker Racing, winner of the teams' championship. Each of the three key awards winners now has the use of the 911 for a year.Harvey admitted it had been a tough year as he battled to beat Michael Caine to the overall title. "It was one of those epic years," he said after collecting his awards from Geoff Turral, Marketing Director, Porsche Cars GB Limited. "It's been a fantastic year and we had to work very hard for the title," said Harvey, before confirming plans to defend his crown in 2009. "I have every intention of coming back again next year!"The awards for second and third overall in the championship were presented to Caine and Sam Hancock, while Tony Gilham was presented with the award for runner-up in pro-am1. In the pro-am2 category, Glynn Geddie and Tommy Dreelan collected their awards.In the teams' championship, Team Parker Racing won the top award, with Jota Sport in second and Red Line Racing was third. "To win the team championship was very hard this year," said Stuart Parker. "The competition has been really strong."Two special awards were also presented and it was Charles Bateman who was announced as winner of the 'most improved driver of the year' award. Meanwhile, a new THB Clowes Mechanics' Award of £3000 went to the crew at Team Parker Racing.Finally, the BARC Marshals' Fund benefited by £2000 from the raffle organised during the evening.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,739 articles