IRL Surfers Paradise


The IndyCar Series has confirmed that it will move forward with its previously announced 2009 schedule after it was unable to come to agreement on a long-term scheduling solution with representatives of the annual Gold Coast Indy event in Surfers Paradise, Australia.

            The IndyCar Series made its debut at Surfers Paradise last month in a non-points race where Ryan Briscoe claimed victory. During the race weekend, IndyCar Series executives met with event organizers and government officials to discuss various date and commercial options for 2009 and beyond. The Gold Coast event, along with the Edmonton race, was added to the 2008 IndyCar Series schedule after the unification of North American open-wheel racing was confirmed in February, less then a month prior to the start of the 2008 schedule.

             On July 30, the IndyCar Series announced its 2009 schedule featuring 18 races, including two new destinations, bookend dates for the state of Florida marking changes to the season-opening and closing venues, and expanding the season-long championship by a month. The announcement was the earliest release of its schedule in IndyCar Series history.

             "We are disappointed that we could not find suitable solutions for both the IndyCar Series and Gold Coast Indy organizers but it was not due to lack of effort," said Terry Angtsadt, president of the commercial division for the Indy Racing League, the sanctioning body for the IndyCar Series. "Chairman Terry Mackenroth and general manager Greg Hooton rolled out the red carpet for the IndyCar Series last month and they are to be commended for their efforts in conjunction with the Queensland government."

              “We appreciate the efforts and support of the organizers and the government to North American open-wheel racing dating back to its debut at Gold Coast in 1991, but we will move on offering our competitors one of the most diverse and challenging schedules in all of motorsports. The 2009 schedule features 10 oval races, three permanent road courses and five temporary circuits, including the debut of the IndyCar Series at Long Beach and Toronto."

Related Motorsport Articles

84,741 articles