Historic F5000/Formula 2 Championship

HSCC unveils Historic F5000/Formula 2 Championship

The HSCC's Derek Bell Trophy will have a new look for 2009 following confirmation that MSA championship status has been awarded to the series for the first time.

Now to be known as the HSCC Historic F5000/F2 Championship for the Derek Bell Trophy, the category will focus on Formula 5000 and Formula 2 cars only, with Formula Atlantic cars likely to race alongside the F2 cars.

"This move recognises the strength of these two classes in historic racing and the series is at a point where it should have championship status," said Grahame White. "We're focussing the calendar into a smaller number of higher profile race meetings." The schedule is likely to cover five or six events, including one overseas date, and some double-headers.

During the 2008 season, more than 20 Formula 5000s raced in the UK and, when added to over 20 active F2 cars from both the 1600cc and 2-litre eras, makes up a potentially very strong grid for the new championship. The 2009 season will also mark the 40th anniversary of the first British Formula 5000 Race.

Initial plans for the development of the championship include giving significant and equal recognition to the leading F5000 driver and the leading F2 driver. The overseas date is under negotiation, with an event at Dijon in France in early October looking likely.

The provisional calendar is:

May 9/10           Silverstone (GB)

May 30/31         Snetterton

July 4/5             Brands Hatch GP

Aug 30/31         Oulton Park

Oct 3/4              Dijon-Prenois

Related Motorsport Articles

83,167 articles