GP2 Hülkenberg shines

 in Qatar night qualifications

The young German strengthens his GP2 rising star status after he signed the fastest laptime at the chequered flag in last night's eventful qualifying session in a 1:35.741. He was followed by Campos’ Sergio Perez and Vitaly Petrov. The youngest man of the field and youngest driver to ever win a GP2 race bettered his Russian teammate’s quickest laptime also in the very last seconds of the session.

On a slippery track, Vitaly Petrov – who had been fastest earlier in Free Practice – looked in really good shape, topping the time sheet for almost the entire qualifications. Four minutes before the chequered flag, Nico Hülkenberg signed the quickest first sector, but iSport’s Al Fardan span at Turn 12 and finished in the gravel bed. The session was then red flagged.

With only 3 minutes and 34 seconds left on the clock, the field went back on the track. The German ace put his head down and snatched the pole position on his very last lap. A few seconds later, Vitaly Petrov crossed the finish line, but could not better Hülkenberg’s time. Sergio Perez stormed soon after that and pushed back his teammate in P3.

Behind the Top 3; Championship leader Kamui Kobayashi recovered in fourth place in his very last lap after a rather difficult session while Piquet’s Roldan Rodriguez finished fifth. Sakon Yamamoto, Javier Villa, Davide Valsecchi, Edoardo Mortara and Jérôme d’Ambrosio complete the Top 10.

Qatar – Qualifications

 Driver  Team  Time  Laps 1.  Nico Hülkenberg  ART Grand Prix  1:35.741  13 2.  Sergio Perez  Barwa Int. Campos Team  1:36.464  14 3.  Vitaly Petrov  Barwa Int. Campos Team  1:36.487  14 4.  Kamui Kobayashi  Dams  1:36.525  13 5.  Roldan Rodriguez  Piquet GP  1:36.583  14 6.  Sakon Yamamoto  ART Grand Prix  1:36.667  14 7.  Javier Villa  Super Nova Racing  1:36.685  15 8.  Davide Valsecchi  Durango  1:36.923  16 9.  Edoardo Mortara  ArdenInt. Motorsport  1:36.987  12 10.  Jérôme d’Ambrosio  Dams  1:37.027  13 11.  James Jakes  Super Nova Racing  1:37.274  14 12.  Marco Bonanomi  My Qi-Meritus.Mahara  1:37.328  16 13.  Alvaro Parente  My Qi-Meritus.Mahara  1:37.409  15 14.  Diego Nunes  Piquet GP  1:37.605  14 15.  Fabrizio Crestani  Ocean Racing Technology  1:37.752  13 16.  Giedo van der Garde  GFH Team iSport  1:37.789  15 17.  Michael Herck  DPR  1:37.928  15 18.  Giacomo Ricci  DPR  1:38.069  15 19.  Luiz Razia  ArdenInt. Motorsport  1:38.264  14 20  Davide Rigon  Trident Racing  1:38.320  15 21.  Hamad Al Fardan  GFH Team iSport  1:38.383  11 22.  Rodolfo Gonzalez  Fisichella Motor Sport Int.  1:38.384  14 23.  Yelmer Buurman  Ocean Racing Technology  1;38.453  15 24.  Frankie Provenzano  Trident Racing  1:39.314  15 25.  Michael Dalle Stelle  Durango  1:41.623  15 26  Kevin Nai Chia Chen  Fisichella Motor Sport Int.  1:43.139  18

Related Motorsport Articles

83,287 articles