Vitaly Petrov quickest in GP2 Friday PM

The Barwa Campos racer was quickest this afternoon at Paul Ricard Another trouble-free day in Paul Ricard for the GP2 teams where track records have been broken every day and where the level of reliability and performance of the 2009 update kit has been very satisfactory.

Russian Vitaly Petrov set the fastest laptime this afternoon in a 1:09.658 at the wheel of his Barwa Campos car, but it was the experienced Lucas di Grassi at Racing Engineering who was the man of  the  day  signing  the  overall  quickest  laptime  this  morning.  The  Brazilian  was  also  quick  this afternoon  clocking  the  second  quickest  laptime  ahead  of  Super  Nova's  Javier  Villa.  The  young Spaniard proved to be consistent and quick during the last three days.

Also  quick  this  afternoon  was  Andreas  Zuber  at  FMS  who  signed  the  fourth  laptime  ahead  of Piquet   GP?s   Alberto   Valerio.   After   a   frustrating   first   day   on   Wednesday   following   technical problems,  Portuguese  Alvaro  Parente  at  Ocean  Racing  Technology  ends  the  session  on  a  high note with the sixth quickest laptime. Behind, Dams' Kamui Kobayashi had a fruitful day. Dani Clos on  the  second  Racing  Engineering  machine  and  Italian  Luca  Filippi  at  Super  Nova  complete  the Top 10.

This  concludes  the  three-day  test  session  at  Paul  Ricard. 

The  GP2  Paddock  will  gather  in Barcelona in two weeks for the second and last test session of the 2009 season, on March 23-25.

Afternoon session Driver Nationality Team Time Laps

1. Vitaly Petrov RUS Barwa Campos Team 1:09.658 29

2. Lucas Di Grassi BRA Fat Burner Racing Engineering 1:09.759 48

3. Javier Villa ESP Super Nova Racing 1:09.897 38

4. Andreas Zuber UAE Fisichella Motor Sport Int. 1:09.903 35

5. Alberto Valerio BRA Piquet GP 1:09.920 33

6. Alvaro Parente POR Ocean Racing Technology 1:09.941 36

 7. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Dams 1:09.968 42

8. Dani Clos ESP Fat Burner Racing Engineering 1:09.981 40

9. Luca Filippi ITA Super Nova Racing 1:10.054 41

10. Romain Grosjean FRA Barwa Campos Team 1:10.080 31

11. Edoardo Mortara ITA Telmex Arden International 1:10.195 43

12. Jerome D Ambrosio BEL Dams 1:10.221 42

13. Sergio Perez MEX Telmex Arden International 1:10.239 32

14. Davide Rigon ITA Trident Racing 1:10.257 52

15. Michael Herck ROM DPR 1:10.343 44

16. Giedo Van der Garde NED iSport International 1:10.419 37

17. Karun Chandhok IND Ocean Racing Technology 1:10.515 30

18. Hamad Al Fardan BRN Trident Racing 1:10.703 44

19. Giacomo Ricci ITA DPR 1:10.732 40

20 Luiz Razia BRA Fisichella Motor Sport Int. 1:10.772 34

21. Diego Nunes BRA iSport International 1:10.815 21

22. Pastor Maldonado VEN ART Grand Prix 1:11.425 55

23. Nico H'lkenberg GER ART Grand Prix 01:11.497 48

Related Motorsport Articles

84,739 articles