FIM MX1 Motocross World Championship


 Teka Suzuki WMX1's Ken De Dycker survived a tough meeting for the team with sixth position overall at a bright but cloudy Valkenswaard in Holland and watched by 20,000 spectators.

The Grand Prix of Benelux, round four of 15 in the FIM MX1 Motocross World Championship, was the first of three events in the 2009 schedule to take place within an hour's drive of the team's workshop in Lommel Belgium. The shallow but rough sand still provided a thorough test of skill, fitness and concentration.

The MX1 motos saw some fantastic entertainment with a group of six riders all squabbling for victory entering the final stages of the first race. De Dycker and Steve Ramon were among the pack. Ramon had been running inside the top four for most of the distance, but entering the crucial moments, he hit a kicker off the large and tricky double jump around the back of the circuit and was thrown head-first into the ground. Somewhat dazed, he managed to remount and finish the race in 13th but the impact to his head was evident with a swollen right eye as well as other pain to his left arm. De Dycker meanwhile was able to force his way to fourth.

The second moto was just as dramatic: De Dycker collided with Billy Mackenzie in the first corner and then flew past almost 20 riders in two laps to make up ground. His impressive speed on the RM-Z450 did not result in further promotion up the rankings once he reached the top 10 and ninth spot was the best he could hope for.

Less than half an hour before the start of Moto 2 Ramon opted to compete. To the former World Champion's credit he even managed to lead the sprint for four laps until the pain from his accident earlier in the day meant he had lower his speed in the final quarter of the race and was seventh by the end of play.

In the World Championship standings De Dycker is third and 19 points from Antonio Cairoli at the top of the table. Ramon is seventh with 100 points and 43 away from first place.

The team now have another break from World Championship action before making the journey south through Europe to Portugal and Agueda for round five of 15 at Agueda. The Grand Prix of Catalunya at Bellpuig in Spain takes place one week later.

Ken De Dycker - 6th:

"Not everything went like I hoped. I didn't have enough strength to last all the way through both heats. I had a fall yesterday that did not help my back. In the first race I was looking for smooth lines and had some good lap-times. In the second, Mackenzie came along side me at the start and pushed me down. I had to ride really hard at the beginning because I knew the leaders would be long gone but I paid the price for it."

Steve Ramon - 9th:

"Of course it feels good to have come away from here with some points because half an hour before the second moto I did not know if I was going to ride or not. I made a choice to ride and things were going pretty well in the beginning but I was in a lot of pain and when it started to get worse I had to slow down. The jumps were hard and once you slow then you lose your rhythm and the laps become even more difficult. I think it is a pity the way the weekend went: One mistake in coming up short over the double in the first moto proved very costly. I was following Marc through the ruts and got a kicker on the jump that pitched the bike forward and I went over the bars. I smashed my head pretty hard."

MX1 Race: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 39:47.158; ; 2. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), +0:04.286; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:07.183; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:08.550; 5. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:09.808; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:09.939; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), +0:17.209; 8. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), +0:23.940; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:39.108; 10. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:50.965; 13. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1) + 1:22.028.

MX1 Race 2: 1. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 40:18.300; 2. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:06.449; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:21.339; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), +0:27.157; 5. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:37.250; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:43.042; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:46.374; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +1:18.127; 9. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), +1:31.576; 10. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +1:34.994;

MX1 Overall: 1. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 45 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 45 p.; 3. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 38 p.; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), 32 p.; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 30 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), 30 p.; 7. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 27 p.; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 25 p.; 9. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), 22 p.; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), 22 p.;

MX1 Championship: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 143 points; 2. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 128 p.; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), 124 p.; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 118 p.; 5. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 112 p.; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 111 p.; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki WMX1), 100 p.; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 87 p.; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 86 p.; 10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), 82 p.;

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. Yamaha, 166 points; 2. Suzuki, 135 p.; 3. KTM, 134 p.; 4. Honda, 118 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 60 p.; 6. TM, 48 p.; 7. Aprilia, 35 p.; 8. CCM, 21 p.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,351 articles