Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Returns To Paul Ricard

The 2010 season of the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo series will continue with a star-studded line-up for rounds seven, eight and nine, as the world’s fastest one-make series returns to Paul Ricard HTTT, France, on 3-4 July 2010.

Four new drivers will get behind the wheel of the 570 hp, four-wheel drive VIP Super Trofeo race cars. The #1 Automobili Lamborghini car will be raced by former Formula One driver Stefan Johansson and 24 Hours of Spa class winner Peter Wyss. Johansson raced in F1 between 1983 and 1991 for Tyrell, Ferrari and McLaren, finishing fifth overall in 1986 before claiming victory at the prestigious 24 Hours of Le Mans race in 1997. His Lamborghini co-driver Wyss, Senior Editor for Swiss Magazine Automobil Revue, also has an impressive endurance racing record, claiming the GT3 class victory at the 24 Hours of Spa in 2004 and 2009.

With World Cup fever high, Lamborghini also has something in store for football fans this weekend: the #2 Automobili Lamborghini VIP car will be piloted by France’s former goalkeeper Fabien Barthez, who helped the French national team to victory in the 1998 FIFA World Cup and the 2000 UEFA European Football Championship. Barthez will be partnered by two-time French Porsche Carrera Cup Champion Anthony Beltoise.

“The series continues to grow in strength, illustrated by our driver line-up,” said Automobili Lamborghini’s Director of Brand and Design, Manfred Fitzgerald. “The Paul Ricard circuit is one of most technologically advanced tracks in Europe, and is a natural fit with Lamborghini, which prides itself on continuously pushing boundaries. It is a very demanding track so will be an equally exciting challenge for both Pro and Pro-Am drivers alike.”

Current leaders in the Pro-Am and Pro Drivers’ Standings, Marc A. Hayek and Peter Kox will not compete at Paul Ricard due to a Hayek family bereavement. The #24 Blancpain Reiter Engineering entry is expected to return to the series for the following race weekend in Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium, on 29-31 July 2010.