Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship

Round 5: Lydden Hill, 28-29 August

Former FIA World Rally Champion Marcus Grönholm won the fifth round of the championship at Lydden Hill.

An estimated 8000 spectators witnessed Grönholm make his championship debut. The Finn started from pole in the A final, which he won after resisting pressure from Kevin Procter. By finishing second, just 0.6 seconds behind Grönholm, Procter claimed maximum championship points as the best-placed Brit.

David Binks completed the podium in third place. Meanwhile reigning champion Pat Doran hit trouble on the last lap, with a broken water pipe allowing coolant to leak under the wheels of his Focus, causing it to slide off the track.

Results1 Marcus Grönholm (Ford Fiesta VII) 3m40.739s2 Kevin Procter (Ford Focus II) 3m41.353s3 David Binks (Ford Fiesta VII) 3m43.830s

Championship positions (provisional)after Round 5:1 Julian Godfrey – 137 points2 David Binks – 1253 Andy Scott – 1114 Steve Hill – 1065 Pat Doran – 100