SWISHER MSA English Rally Championship

Round 5: Woodpecker Stages Rally, 3 September

Allan McDowall leads the championship by a single point from Darren Pinchin following round five, the Woodpecker Stages Rally.

McDowall won Class E5 by 21 seconds from David Young and Warren Philliskirk.  Meanwhile Pinchin was engaged in a high-speed battle all day with Class E2 rival Justin Lawson. They were just three seconds apart going into the last stage but a broken driveshaft on Pinchin’s Proton cost two minutes and any chance of a class win.  

Sean Edwards took maximum points in class E3 while Matt Beebe won class E4 with another strong performance. Dave Town claimed Class E1 for standard cars of up to 1400cc, again finishing ahead of many more powerful cars on the event. 

ResultsClass E5 Allan McDowall / Gavin Heseltine (Opel Kadett) 47m55sClass E4 Matt Beebe / Richard Mills (MG ZR 160) 49m12s Class E3 Sean Edwards / Gavin Haycock (Ford Escort) 51m12s                Class E2 Justin Lawson / Paul Hargreaves (Vauxhall Nova) 49m48s Class E1 Dave Town / Mick Town (Rover 214) 53m43s

Championship positions (provisional)after Round 5   1 Allan McDowall – 120 points2 Darren Pinchin – 1193 Warren Philliskirk – 110           4 Matt Beebe – 1085 Boyd Kershaw – 101