Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship

Round 6: Lakeland Stages Rally, 10 September

Kenny McKinstry sealed the 2011 Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship title with his sixth win from six events on the Lakeland Stages Rally.

McKinstry and co-driver Kenny Hull set identical times on the opening two stages as Donagh Kelly and co-driver Kevin Flanagan. Kelly edged ahead on the third test, but McKinstry fought back to take victory by just 11 seconds.

With the best six results from the seven-round championship counting towards final points tallies, McKinstry is now untouchable at the top of the standings.

Results1 Kenny McKinstry / Kenny Hull (Subaru Impreza WRC) 40m30s2 Donagh Kelly / Kevin Flanagan (Mitsubishi Lancer) 40m41s3 Stuart Biggerstaff / Anthony Nestor (Subaru Impreza WRC) 40m59s

Championship positions (provisional)after Round 61 Kenny McKinstry – 72 points (CHAMPION)2 George Robinson – 413 Donagh Kelly – 364 Stuart Biggerstaff – 315 Neil McCane – 24