Nicholson McLaren MSA British Hill Climb Championship

Rounds 33 & 34: Loton Park, 24-25 September

New champion Scott Moran and his father Roger took a win each at Loton Park.

Scott chose not to qualify for the first run-off, so as to help Roger maintain his runner-up spot in the championship ahead of Trevor Willis, who in the event failed to qualify.

The track later dried rapidly amid a stiff breeze, and Scott made easy work of qualification; on the last run of the season he set a new outright hill record for a bonus point. Meanwhile Lee Adams took fifth in the final standings by a solitary point from a disappointed Tom New. 

Results – Round 331 Roger Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61X) 55.31s; 2 Alex Summers (1.4t DJ-Suzuki Firehawk) 56.18s; 3 Lee Adams (1.6 GWR-Suzuki Raptor) 56.86s; 4 Jos Goodyear (1.6 DJ-Suzuki Firehawk) 56.93s; 5 Wallace Menzies (3.2 DJ-Cosworth Firestorm) 57.48s; 6 Richard Spedding (1.6 Force-Suzuki PC) 57.56s; 7 Steve Owen (1.6 OMS-Suzuki 25) 58.11s; 8 Deryk Young (4.0 Gould-Judd EV GR51b) 58.35s; 9 John Bradburn (3.5 Gould-Cosworth HB GR55) 59.20s; 10 Tom New (3.5 Gould-Judd GR55) 60.83s; 11 Tim Wilson (1.6 OMS-Suzuki 25) 59.50s; 12 Rob Turnbull (3.5 Gould-Cosworth HB GR55) 59.78s

Results – Round 341 Scott Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61X) 44.32s Fastest Time of the Day and new outright hill record; 2 Roger Moran 45.47s; 3 Trevor Willis (3.2 OMS-Powertec 25) 45.65s; 4 Adams 45.87s; 5 New 45.96s; 6 Goodyear 46.83s; 7 Bradburn 46.50s; 8 Menzies 46.70s; 9 Alastair Crawford (2.8 Gould-NME GR55) 46.80s; 10 Oliver Tomlin (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd KV MP97) 47.38s; 11 Summers 47.58s; 12 Morgan Jenkins (2.0 Pilbeam-Vauxhall XE MP87) 47.78s

Final championship positions (provisional)1 Scott Moran – 267 points (CHAMPION)2 Roger Moran – 2243 Trevor Willis – 2104 Wallace Menzies – 2075 Lee Adams – 152