MSA British Drag Racing Championship

Round 5: Santa Pod Raceway, 24-25 September

Graham Ellis secured the MSA British Drag Racing Championship title with victory in the last round of the season at Santa Pod.

Ellis’s title battle with Roger Moore ended when the latter slipped to semi-final defeat against Yorkshire’s Wayne Nicholson in the closest, quickest match of the day. While never breaking the seven-second, 200mph barrier, Ellis managed to cross the finish line first in each elimination round, beating Nicholson in the final to hoist the event trophy.

Moore was the low qualifier at 6.742s – the event’s quickest pass. Meanwhile Nick Davies achieved Britain’s fastest-ever Pro Mod speed – 235.30mph – driving Ellis’s other car, a turbocharged Plymouth Superbird, which Ellis will pilot next year.

Results – semi-final eliminations Wayne Nicholson 6.969s, 175.08mph def. Roger Moore 6.998s, 192.93mphGraham Ellis 7.573, 194.57 def. Nick Davies 21.070, 38.28

Final eliminationsGraham Ellis 7.592, 114.96 def. Wayne Nicholson 14.261, 56.74

Low Elapsed Time of the Event:  6.742s – Roger MooreTop Speed of the Event:  235.30mph – Nick DaviesFinal championship positions (provisional) 1 Graham Ellis – 415 points (CHAMPION)2 Roger Moore – 3593 Wayne Nicholson – 2894 Nick Davies – 2615 Bert Englefield – 239= Andy Wright – 239