Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship

Round 7: McKelvey Bushwhacker Rally, 24 September

Former champion Connor McCloskey made a successful return to the championship by winning the Bushwhacker Rally.

Navigated by Francis Regan, McCloskey led from start to finish, eventually sealing victory by 31 seconds from Donagh Kelly and Kevin Flanagan.

With his run of victories having finally been broken, new champion Kenny McKinstry secured the final podium place, just one second shy of Kelly. Co-driven by Kenny Hull, he had been embroiled in a battle with 2010 champions Stuart Biggerstaff and Anthony Nestor when Biggerstaff’s gearbox broke.

Results1 Connor McCloskey / Francis Regan (Subaru Impreza WRC) 35m29.0s2 Donagh Kelly / Kevin Flanagan (Mitsubishi Lancer) 36m00s3 Kenny McKinstry / Kenny Hull (Subaru Impreza WRC) 36m01s

Championship positions (provisional)after Round 71 Kenny McKinstry – 81 points (CHAMPION)2 Donagh Kelly – 463 George Robinson – 414 Connor McCloskey – 325 Stuart Biggerstaff – 31