Titles and triumphs at ADAC Masters Motorsport Oktoberfest

Furious ADAC Masters Weekend 2011 finale at Hockenheim  Bright sunshine, brilliant winners, beaming spectators: the ADAC GT Masters Weekend season finale at Hockenheim was a fitting climax to a thrilling season. The regular race championships’ ADAC GT Masters, ATS Formula 3 Cup, Formel ADAC, ADAC PROCAR and also the guest series’ MINI Challenge and Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo staged no less than 14 races at the Baden Motodrom. 33.200 spectators enjoyed a marvellous Indian summer and top quality motorsport around the legendary circuit in Baden-Württemberg. Singer-songwriter ‘Der Graf’ from German chart breakers ‘Unheilig’ (‘Geboren um zu Leben’) watched as Alexandros Margaritis and Dino Lunardi took their first ADAC GT Masters title. The champions in the ADAC PROCAR Division 2 (Nils Mierschke, D) and Super Trofeo (Fabio Babini) have now also been crowned. Speaking quite probably for all the enthusiastic spectators ‘Der Graf’, who tasted ADAC GT Masters excitement for the first time, said in a ‘kabel eins’ interview: “I’m absolutely delighted to be able to be here. I have the greatest respect for the drivers’ performance.ADAC GT Masters: Title presentation on Saturday, drama on SundayThe first championship battle in the ADAC GT Masters 2011 was decided early on Saturday: Former DTM driver Alexandros Margaritis (GR) and his French team mate Dino Lunardi in the Team Engstler LIQUI MOLY BMW ALIPNA won the coveted title in the drivers’ championship following a dominant victory in the penultimate race of the season. In Saturday’s race their closest rivals Johannes and Ferdinand Stuck (both A) in a Reiter Lamborghini followed across the line in second place ahead the Phoenix Racing Audi driven by René Rast/Stefan Landmann (D/A). The newly crowned champions and the Stucks were also in the spotlight on Sunday: Johannes Stuck sprinted past the champions’ car on the opening lap before handing over to brother Ferdinand from the lead. The green BMW ALPINA was always close behind. When the green racer slowed and parked due to a problem it appeared a mere formality that the Stucks would take the spoils. However, in the final metres their Lamborghini got slower and slower before stuttering across the finish line: fifth place instead of victory. Consolation for the Stucks: they still secured runner-up spot in the ADAC GT Masters and the pan-championship German GT Championship title. Furthermore, their Reiter team won the ADAC GT Masters teams’ title. Reiter team mate Marc A. Hayek (CH) was crowned amateur champion. Another strong drive by René Rast/Stefan Landmann saw them take a podium again on Sunday ahead the Farnbacher ESET Racing Ferrari of Niclas Kentenich/Mario Farnbacher and the Mercedes SLS of MS Racing driven by Maximilian Mayer/Maximilian Götz (all D). Farnbacher’s second place crowned the more than successful debut of the ADAC Formel Masters talent in the ‘league of super sportscars’. Team ABT Sportsline travelled to Hockenheim with just a small chance of scooping the title but was unable to score any points. Christopher Mies (D) nevertheless mounted the championship podium as third in the final standings. ATS Formula 3 Cup: Stanaway continues winning streakHe also left no doubts whatsoever about his well earned ATS Formula 3 Cup championship win at the finale: Richie Stanaway (NZ) scored his twelfth and 13th victories of the season in convincing fashion at Hockenheim. The New Zealander who had already taken the championship crown at the previous race weekend at Assen (NL) also grabbed the extra points for pole position and fastest lap in the second race. Curiously he was followed home in second and third place in both races by Mercedes drivers Marco Sørensen (DK) and Hockenheim local matador Markus Pommer (D). Sørensen and Klaus Bachler (A) finished behind Stanaway In the final championship standings.Formel ADAC: Wehrlein leads preliminary final standings Two drivers managed the jump onto the top step of podium for the first time at the Formel ADAC 2011 finale: The first of the three races at Hockenheim was won by ADAC Stiftung Sport supported driver Jason Kremer (D), in the third race local matador Lucas Wolf had his nose in front. Sven Müller (D) scored the most points during the final race weekend. The driver from Bingen won the second race and took a brace of seconds. In the final standings, which are preliminary due to ongoing proceedings, Müller is second behind Pascal Wehrlein who only managed to finish on the podium in the first Hockenheim race after taking third place. Third overall was Emil Bernstorff who, after finishing second in the second race, retired from the lead in the last race. ADAC PROCAR: Mierschke trembles his way to Division 2 title After the Division 1 title had been won early by BMW driver Johannes Leidinger (D), Jens Weimann (D) clinched second overall after taking two wins for the first time this season. In both races the BMW driver finished ahead of his closest rival Peter Rikli (CH) in second place in a Honda. The main focus of attention however was on Division 2 in which the championship was completely open. Although second overall Guido Thierfelder (D) celebrated two wins, leader Nils Mierschke (D) protected his points advantage with a pair of second places. In the Super 1600 touring car class final standings the Ford driver held a five point lead over Peugeot driver Thierfelder. National and international TV coverageThe TV channel screens a highlight magazine covering the Formula car races during the night to Monday (3 October 1:15). TV highlights of all the events at are shown by ‘SPORT1’ (8 October from 13:30). ‘MotorsTV’ broadcasts a recording of the ADAC GT Masters races in full length (4 October from 21:15; 5 October from 9:30 and from 17:30; 6 October from 12:00 and from 23:25; 7 October 13:45).