Volkswagen prepares to hit the streets of Macau for F3 Intercontinental Cup

With a wealth of history, and the best young drivers competing in a unique setting around one of the most challenging city street circuits, the Macau Grand Prix, or FIA F3 Intercontinental Cup, is rightfully regarded as the impressive culmination of the Formula 3 season.  Volkswagen returns to next month’s glittering season finale, which takes place17-20 November, to defend its crown after consecutive victories in 2009 and 2010, bidding to become the most successful engine manufacturer in the event’s history.Drivers from the European and Asian Formula 3 championships, including newly crowned British F3 champion, Felipe Nasr, and ATS Formula 3 Cup Champion, Richie Stanaway, are among 15 drivers from 12 nations, who will compete around the 6.120 km (3.803 mile) street circuit, powered by a near-210 bhp Volkswagen engine. Reigning British F3 champions, Carlin, travel out to Macau with a four-strong driver line-up led by Brazilian Felipe Nasr, who claimed the 2011 championship at Rockingham last month.  He is joined by championship runner-up Carlos Huertas from Columbia, the Dane Kevin Magnussen, who finished the championship in third place, and Jazeman Jafaar from Malaysia.  Hitech Racing, who also contests the British Championship with Volkswagen Power, have submitted entries for Pietro Fantin from Brazil, Portuguese driver António Félix da Costa, and Hannes van Asseldonk from the Netherlands.Following Edoardo Mortara’s back-to-back victories with the Volkswagen customer team Signature in 2009 and 2010, the French Euro Series team will field German duo Marco Wittmann and Daniel Abt, Colombian Carlos Muñoz and Belgian Laurens Vanthoor, who finished as the runner-up last year.  A new addition to the team is Carlos Sainz Jr., the son of World Rally Champion and Dakar winner Carlos Sainz.  The 17-year-old Spaniard is a rookie at the Formula 3 Grand Prix, but not to the Macau circuit.  The Red Bull Junior shone as a guest entrant last year, clinching victory at the Formula BMW Asia-Pacific.The Motopark team will field two drivers, Japanese Kimiya Sato and Jimmy Eriksson from Sweden, while the ATS Formula 3 Cup is represented by Frits van Amersfoort’s championship winning team, who completes the Volkswagen-powered line-up.  Richie Stanaway, the dominating champion in Germany’s highest-ranking formula racing series – like van Asseldonk, Eriksson, Fantin, Magnussen and Sainz – will contest the event for the first time.

Macau: the most successful engine manufacturers Toyota and Volkswagen, 7 victories each; Opel, 4; Mugen-Honda and Mercedes-Benz,3 each; Renault, 2; Alfa-Romeo and Fiat, 1 each.Macau: Volkswagen victories at the Formula 3 Grand Prix1984     John Nielsen (DK), Ralt RT3 Volkswagen1985     Maurício Gugelmin (BR), Ralt RT30 Volkswagen1986     Andy Wallace (GB), Reynard 863 Volkswagen1989     David Brabham (AUS), Ralt RT33 Volkswagen1990     Michael Schumacher (D), Reynard 903 Volkswagen2009     Edoardo Mortara (I), Dallara F309 Volkswagen2010     Edoardo Mortara (I), Dallara F309 Volkswagen