Hill becomes BSB champion by 0.006 seconds!

I urge you to watch this race on Eurosport this week if you missed it - amazing almost theatrical end to the season

Shakey Byrne's 5 second victory was overshadowed by the most exciting finale to a BSB championship seen.

PR below:

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill won the 2011 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship with a photo finish between himself and title rival John Hopkins as the pair crossed the line for second place with just 0.006 seconds separating them.

Thousands of fans at Brands Hatch helped Hill celebrate his title win as they flocked onto the circuit for the podium presentation, whilst the newly-crowned champion let the elation of a maiden BSB title soak in following the epic battle to be number one.

Hill said: "I am gobsmacked to have won the title for Swan Yamaha; this has been my goal and I was trying to stay as relaxed as possible in that final race. The season has put a lot of pressure on everyone and that reflects on everyone. We have been regularly finishing in the top three and that has therefore been the benchmark and the whole of the Swan Yamaha team have been working so hard all year to make this possible. It has just been a complete shock for me and I feel like we should be having another race next weekend now! It wasn't until the other riders started congratulating me that I even realised I had won as it was so close between myself and Hopper.

"It has been a long hard season and it came down to that one race. Everyone wanted a Showdown and that is what we have given them; it really was make or break time and I knew I had to do everything possible to beat Hopper. I knew Michael (Laverty) was behind me, but then when I knew it was Josh (Brookes) I had to just go for it. Coming across the line we didn't know who had finished second and with it the title. At the moment I feel like I need someone to punch me or something to bring me back to reality. I just want to go out and race again now! I just want to celebrate now with my family, friends and the whole of the Swan Yamaha team and I need to thank everyone for their support this season."

Race results:

1. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda)

2. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +4.434s

3. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) +4.440s

4. James Ellison (Sorrymate.com Honda) +4.679s

5. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +4.782s

6. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +5.785s

7. Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +12.253s

8. Graeme Gowland (WFR Honda) +15.963s

9. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +16.130s

10. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +24.203s

Final standings:

Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 647

John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) 645

Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 625

Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 601

Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) 598

Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 526