Felipe Massa leads Indian GP second practice

The Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso set the fastest (1.25.706) and third fastest (1.25.930) times of the second session of free practice for the Indian Grand Prix.

The third last round of the Formula 1 world championship is scheduled for Sunday at Noida’s all-new Buddh International Circuit. Sandwiched by the two Ferraris was the Red Bull of world champion Sebastian Vettel, with the second fastest time (1.25.794). I

n this afternoon session, which both Ferrari drivers ended with some practice starts, the team concentrated on a comparison between the two wings and tested the Hard and Soft compounds of tyre brought by Pirelli on different fuel loads.

On the helmets of both Felipe and Fernando there are two stickers dedicated to the memory of Marco Simoncelli and Dan Wheldon, the MotoGP rider and the IndyCar driver who passed away in the last two weeks.

Felipe Massa, P1 - 7th/ P2 -1st“It’s always nice to be in first place at the end of a day’s work, however we know that Friday’s results are all relative.

Sure, it would be nice to move through the weekend in the same position, but that will be very difficult to achieve.

Today, we concentrated on finding the best set-up on the car and on tyre behaviour on this new circuit. I like the track, it is very interesting and there are corners where driving skill can make the difference. In some places the actual track surface is very wide and so it will therefore be possible to take various different lines in the race, which could make overtaking easier.

The car seems competitive, but we must wait and see what McLaren and Red Bull can do tomorrow, as they are still very strong.

The tyres? Probably the hards are too hard for this track and it would have been possible to run the same compounds we had in Korea in two weeks ago, because the track surface is very smooth.”

1.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari                1m25.706s          2.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault       1m25.794s  + 0.088  3.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari                1m25.930s  + 0.224  4.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes       1m26.454s  + 0.748  5.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault       1m26.500s  + 0.794  6.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes       1m26.714s  + 1.008  7.  Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes   1m27.316s  + 1.610  8.  Bruno Senna           Renault                1m27.498s  + 1.792  9.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes   1m27.853s  + 2.147  10  Sebastien Buemi       Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1m27.868s  + 2.162  11  Vitaly Petrov         Renault                1m27.890s  + 2.184  12  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari         1m28.050s  + 2.344  13  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari         1m28.289s  + 2.583  14  Jaime Alguersuari     Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1m28.552s  + 2.846  15  Rubens Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth      1m28.691s  + 2.985  16  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Cosworth      1m28.708s  + 3.002  17  Jarno Trulli          Lotus-Renault          1m29.332s  + 3.626  18  Heikki Kovalainen     Lotus-Renault          1m30.241s  + 4.535  19  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes               1m31.098s  + 5.392  20  Timo Glock            Virgin-Cosworth        1m31.469s  + 5.763  21  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes               1m31.804s  + 6.098  22  Jerome D'Ambrosio     Virgin-Cosworth        1m32.593s  + 6.887  23  Daniel Ricciardo      HRT-Cosworth           1m32.768s  + 7.062

24.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth           1m32.824s  + 7.118 

Click here for the Official Felipe Massa web site - designed and built by Racecar

Related Motorsport Articles

83,716 articles