SUPERSTARS Series announces 34 full time entries for 2012

A largely successful off-season confirms growth of the International Series. New teams are set for full-time assaults while Porsche is set to be back against Audi, BMW, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Jaguar, Lexus, Maserati and Mercedes.

FGGROUP is proud to announce the 2012 entry list for the SUPERSTARS INTERNATIONAL SERIES, featuring 34 permanent entries and 17 teams. The series' top stars are ready to battle their way to victory starting from this season's opener, scheduled in less than two months at Monza. Many top squads will be back for more wins, like Swiss Team, eager to continue in the same successful path that brought Andrea Bertolini to a dominant performance last year: they are set to a major expansion, as they will be fielding three Maserati Quattroporte racecars.

An historic name has confirmed its commitment to the SPERSTARS INTERNATIONAL SERIES. CAAL Racing, the team with the highest number of starts in the FGGROUP-promoted championships will rely again on their Mercedes C63 AMG racers, and will be looking forward to add another championship win to their stellar 5 teams' titles. Roma Racing Team will be competing again under the Mercedes banner, as the team Owned by Nico Caldarola is set to build on a sensational debut season. As announced in the last few days, BMW team Dinamic will field 2010 SUPERSTARS champion and multiple FIA GT champion Thomas Biagi. The Bologna-based racer is set to be back on-board his winning BMW M3 E92. He will also rely on the same technical package he had in the last two years, with the support of ROAL Motorsport.

Three brand-new AUDI RS5 racecars will line-up too, including the one driven by multiple SUPERSTARS champ Gianni Morbidelli. He will be aiming for a third title after his successful earlier runs with the Ingolstadt-based carmaker. More news also came from the German front: two Porsche Panamera S racecars will be back with Rangoni Motorsport, fielded for Alessandro Garofano and probably for Luca Rangoni himself.

New teams will be joining the game too. Solaris Motorsport will come from Switzerland, fielding two Chevrolet Lumina CR8 racers for the experienced Francesco Sini and a yet to be named rookie. Top international squad Durango Motorsport, managed by Ivano Pinton, will step up from open-wheel competition to line-up the formerly manufacturer-supported Audi RS4s, and they will be joined by W&D Racing Team. The San Marino-based men are set for a double BMW M3 E90 assault with one car already assigned to 2011 Italian Endurance Touringcar Series champion Paolo Meloni. The Bavarian banner will also be held high by Team Porteiro Motorsport, as they will field two young Spaniards in the attempt to hit the top of the charts straight out of the box. An additional BMW M3 is bound to Scuderia Giudici, with veteran Gianni Giudici behind the wheel.

Team Jaguar Ferlito will join the roster again with British power. The team, which cruised to the 2006 drivers' title with Max Pigoli, will be back with their XFR racers. Nippon will be back in the game too, as MRT By Nocentini will line-up their Lexus IS F in an attempt to wash away the Japanese manufacturer's tough debut season. Another big, made-in-USA engine will be under the hood of the Cadillac CTS-V of RC Motorsport, while Todi Corse will be running with two highly-experienced racers, Francesco Ascani and Leonardo Baccarelli.

Related Motorsport Articles

83,726 articles