Carryduff Forklift MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship

 Round 1: Magic Bullet Fuel Treatment Stages Rally, 18 February

Derek McGarrity and James McKee won the opening round of the 2012 championship, the Magic Bullet Stages Rally, to take an early lead in the title race.

McGarrity kicked off the event with a scratch time on SS1, while reigning champion Kenny McKinstry lost 50 seconds following a spin. McGarrity kept up his pace throughout the rally, setting several fastest times to finish 38.3 seconds clear of Kevin Barrett and co-driver Declan Tumilty.

Derek McGeehan and Lurie Smyth completed the podium after a solid run in their Mini WRC. McKinstry ended up fifth, just 4.5 seconds behind Ray Brammer and his navigator Jody Wilson.

Results1 Derek McGarrity / James McKee (Subaru Impreza WRC) 25m13.4s2 Kevin Barrett / Declan Tumilty (Subaru Impreza WRC) 25m51.7s3 Derek McGeehan / Lurie Smyth (Mini WRC) 26m16.0s Championship positons (provisional)after Round 11 Derek McGarrity – 12 points2 Derek McGeehan – 103 Ray Brammer – 94 Kenny McKinstry – 85 James Gillen – 7

Related Motorsport Articles

82,548 articles