UTES: Sieders' historic hatrick of Adelaide Poles‏

AIS National's David Sieders has recorded his third consecutive season-opening Pole Position for the Auto One V8 Ute Series - protected by Armor All on the streets of Adelaide, 1 March 2012.

The 2011 V8 Ute Series Runner-Up, recorded a time of 1:36.8474 on his third lap and returned to pit lane after just six laps, finishing the session more than four-tenths faster than any other car, and bettering his own Qualifying record by almost half a second.

Sieders’ first Armor All Pole Position of 2012 was also the first ever category hatrick of timesheet toppers at Adelaide, and he maintains his flawless qualifying record at the track since joining the category in 2010.

"That was absolutely awesome," said Sieders, "with the dramas we had during the day, to just finish the day was a relief, and to come away with Pole Position this afternoon is just amazing."

"Taking three-in-a-row is just amazing considering our build up to the round," said Sieders, "the Team's been running off only two to three hours of sleep each night just trying to get everything done in time to actually get to this round".

Debuting his new FG XR8 Ford Falcon Ute, Sieders' day started quite the opposite to how it finished, with braking issues leaving the 28 year-old Sydneysider in 30th position in the first session of 2012.

"We didn't get a chance to test the new car before coming here, so Practice One was effectively our shakedown, and it just wasn't braking properly, which could have ended our season," said Sieders, "but the guys got straight onto it and fixed the issue and had me ready for Practice Two."

Boosted by the timesheet topping result of the other Sieders Racing prepared FG XR8 of Andrew Fisher in the morning session, Sieders bounced back in Practice Two, before an electrical fault had him heading to pit lane fearing the worst, but recording the sixth fastest time.

"The car was much better in Practice Two, but not long into the session I had the oil pressure warning light coming on, and thought we'd lost the engine," said Sieders, "luckily it was just a conversion issue with the software, and the engine was given the all-clear for Qualifying."

Sieders will lead the field for the first race of the 2012 V8 Ute Series at 5:30pm today, with Race Two at 12:10pm tomorrow and Race Three on Sunday at 11:50am.

Races Two and Three will be broadcast as live during the Raceday Xtra programme on Network Seven, with support category coverage beginning at 1:30pm on Saturday and 1:00pm on Sunday (AEDST - check local guides).

"We've kicked off the 2012 Season with maximum points in Qualifying, now we just need to back it up in the three races and look to leave Adelaide at the top of the ENZED Drivers' Leaderboard"

V8 UTE POLE WINNERS – ADELAIDE PARKLANDS•2012       David Sieders (1:36.8474) R•2011       David Sieders (1:37.3743) R•2010       David Sieders (1:38.2718)•2009       Gary Baxter (1:38.8345)•2008       Grant Johnson (1:38.0200) R•2007       Ryal Harris (1:40.0997)•2006       Grant Johnson (1:39.3213) R•2005       Gary Baxter (1:39.3946) R•2004       Glen Barnes (1:40.5746)•2003       Warren Luff (1:40.1033) R•2002       Warren Luff (1:41.3895) R•2001       Rod Wilson (1:48.1748) R

R = denotes new Qualifying Lap Record

Related Motorsport Articles

82,548 articles