AutoGP, Campana tops official Monza testing timesheets

Italian F3 champion Sergio Campana emerged as the quickest at the end of the first official test of the 2012 Auto GP World Series. After a morning session that saw the teams focus mainly on the set-up with used tyres, in the afternoon all the outfits on track went for performance using all the sets of tyres available. Laptimes dropped especially in the last hour, when all the cars were fitted with soft tyres and the session became a sort of qualifying practice.At the end, eleven drivers were packed in just one second and Campana posted the fastest lap, bringing the MLR71 car on top with a 1’36”875. Sergey Sirotkin was second, just one tenth slower with the Euronova car, ahead of Pål Varhaug. The Norwegian driver was immediately at ease with the Virtuosi UK staff and posted a 1’37”141 that allowed him to stay ahead of Brazilian Victor Guerin, fourth with SuperNova thanks to a 1’37”157. Facundo Regalia was 5th and again the best placed driver from Campos Racing, ahead of Zele’s Giacomo Ricci, 6th with 1’37”442. The experienced GP2 racer ended just one tenth ahead of Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, and two tenths ahead of an impressive Giuseppe Cipriani. Closing the top ten were Zoël Amberg (1’38”643) and Daniel de Jong, ahead of Max Snegirev and Antonio Spavone.Monza, 2 March 2012, Official Test, Cumulate Times1    Sergio Campana        MLR71                          1’36”8752    Sergey Sirotkin          Euronova Racing             1’36”9703    Pål Varhaug              Virtuosi UK                    1’37”1414    Victor Guerin             SuperNova International   1’37”1575    Facundo Regalia        Campos Racing               1’37”3036    Giacomo Ricci            Zele Racing                   1’37”4427    Adrian Quaife-Hobbs   SuperNova International  1’37”5548    Giuseppe Cipriani        Campos Racing              1’37”6999    Zoël Amberg              Virtuosi UK                   1’38”46310    Daniel de Jong          Manor MP Motorsport     1’38”66911    Max Snegirev            Campos Racing             1’38”83012    Antonio Spavone       Euronova Racing            1’38”87313    Giancarlo Serenelli     Ombra Racing                1’39”55814    Michele La Rosa        MLR71                         1’40”52615    Camilo Zurcher         Ombra Racing                1’41”672

Related Motorsport Articles

82,693 articles