SWISHER MSA English Rally Championship

Round 2: Malcolm Wilson Rally, 3 March

Julian Wilkes and Allan McDowall are tied atop the championship standings following round two, the Malcolm Wilson Rally in the Lake District.

Wilkes and co-driver Will Rutherford set the fastest time of any 1400cc car on every stage to win their class by over two minutes, while last year’s champion McDowall and navigator Gavin Heseltine saw off main rivals Boyd Kershaw and Bryan Hull after eking out a few seconds on each stage.

Meanwhile MSA Apprentice Cameron Davies and his co-driver Alistair Dodd delivered an equally impressive performance to win Class E1 for standard cars, ahead of a large field of BTRDA Rally First cars.

Results – class winnersE5 Allan McDowall / Gavin Heseltine (Opel Kadett) 53m13sE4 David Poyser / John Orme (Honda Civic) 60m59sE3 Neil Matthews / Ian Harden (Vauxhall Nova) 58m34sE2 Julian Wilkes / Will Rutherford (Vauxhall Nova) 53m54sE1 Cameron Davies / Alistair Dodd (Nissan Micra) 58m44s

Championship positions (provisional) after Round 21 Julian Wilkes – 50 points= Allan Mcdowall – 50 3 Neil Matthews – 48 4 Ian Barrett – 46 5 Peter Smith – 42