Sirotkin tops AutoGP Free Practice 1 in Monza

Sergey Sirotkin was quickest in the first Free Practice session of the 2012 Auto GP World Series in Monza: the Russian driver posted a 1’38”164 that allowed him to top the timesheet, an impressive achievent considering that he’s the youngest on the grid this year. Sirotkin ended ahead of Italian F3 Champion Sergio Campana, who confirmed the feeling with the car and the track he had already showed one week ago in the official test. Behind Campana was Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, stopping the clock on 1’38”466 with the SuperNova car and appearing much more at ease compared to one week ago. The british talent was four tenths quicker than the experienced Giacomo Ricci with the Zele Racing entry. Closing the top 5 was Brazilian Victor Guerin with the other SuperNova car.Campos Racing had a consistent outing too, putting their cars in P6, P7 and P8 with Facu Regalia, Max Snegirev and Giuseppe Cipriani all packed in 4 tenths. Daniel de Jong was 9th with Manor MP Motorsport and Adderly Fong was 10th, a good result especially considering that he never drove the Zytek-powered Lola before.It’s worth to highlight that in this session the teams used the Overboost system for the first time: At each event they will have the system available just eight times per session, with the exception of Qualifying: in that case, the car will run in “full boost mode” for the whole session.

 Monza, Free Practice 11    Sergey SIROTKIN          Euronova Racing                1:38.164

2    Sergio CAMPANA           MLR 71                            1:38.433

3    Adrian QUAIFE-HOBBS   Super Nova International     1:38.4664    Giacomo RICCI             Zele Racing                       1:38.887

5    Victor GUERIN              Super Nova International     1:38.971

6    Facundo REGALIA         Campos Racing                  1:39.092

7    Max SNEGIREV             Campos Racing                  1:39.269

8    Giuseppe CIPRIANI        Campos Racing                  1:39.422

9    Daniel DE JONG            Manor MP Motorsport          1:39.630

10   Adderly FONG              Ombra Racing                    1:39.835

11   Antonio SPAVONE         Euronova Racing                1:40.052

12   Chris VAN DER DRIFT    Manor MP Motorsport          1:40.877

13   Giancarlo SERENELLI     Ombra Racing                    1:41.659

14   Michele LA ROSA          MLR 71                             1:41.713

15   Matteo BERETTA          Virtuosi UK                        1:42.058

16   Pal VARHAUG              Virtuosi UK                         1:42.443