Campana the quickest in Monza AutoGP Practice 2

The fight between Sergio Campana and Sergey Sirotkin seems to be the leitmotif of this first day of the 2012 Auto GP World Series. In the second Free Practice session, the Italian driver of MLR71 topped the timesheets with a 1’37”115 that was one second quicker than the best laptime from the first session. Behind him, Sirotkin was just one tenth adrift with the Euronova car, with a 0.9 improvement from his morning laptime.

As in the first practice, Adrian Quaife-Hobbs was third thanks to a 1’37”538 that allowed him to keep Giacomo Ricci at bay. The Italian driver was 4th with his 1’37”722, and the top 5 was exactly the same as in the first session, as Victor Guerin was 5th with the other SuperNova entry. Facu Regalia was quickest among the Campos Racing guys (1’38”011), just ahead of Euronova’s Antonio Spavone, much quicker than he was in the morning. Another improved driver was Pal Varhaug, after solving some little glitches that affected him in FP1, while Adderly Fong confirmed his top ten pace with P9. Giuseppe Cipriani was 10th, ahead of Chris Van der Drift that is progressively getting acquainted with the Zytek powered Lola.

Monza, Free Practice 21      Sergio CAMPANA             MLR 71                            1:37.115

2      Sergey SIROTKIN            Euronova Racing                1:37.246

3      Adrian QUAIFE-HOBBS     Super Nova International     1:37.538

4      Giacomo RICCI               Zele Racing                       1:37.722

5      Victor GUERIN                Super Nova International     1:37.748

6      Facundo REGALIA            Campos Racing                 1:38.011

7      Antonio SPAVONE            Euronova Racing               1:38.168

8      Pal VARHAUG                  Virtuosi UK                      1:38.247

9      Adderly FONG                 Ombra Racing                   1:38.578

10    Giuseppe CIPRIANI          Campos Racing                  1:38.854

11    Chris VAN DER DRIFT       Manor MP Motorsport         1:39.391

12    Daniel DE JONG               Manor MP Motorsport         1:39.567

13    Max SNEGIREV                Campos Racing                 1:39.608

14    Giancarlo SERENELLI        Ombra Racing                    1:39.609

15    Matteo BERETTA             Virtuosi UK                        1:40.386

16    Michele LA ROSA             MLR 71                            1:41.957