REIS Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship

Round 1: Tour of Epynt, 11 March

Melvyn Evans, the 2009 champion, and co-driver Aled Davies won the opening round of this year’s championship, the Tour of Epynt.

Evans lost time early on after choosing hard compound tyres for the first two stages on the Epynt Military Ranges, allowing defending champion Damian Cole to take an early lead. However, once Evans fitted some softer rubber the times started to come and after seven stages he arrived at the Llandovery finish a minute ahead.

The Imprezas of Peter Lloyd and 2011 Epynt winner Steve Simpson were third and fourth respectively. John Indri took the top two-wheel-drive honours with fifth in his Darrian T90 GTR.

Results1 Melvyn Evans / Aled Davies (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h09m57s  2 Damian Cole / Dave Engwell (Ford Focus WRC) 1h11m03s3 Peter Lloyd / Ryland James (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h11m17s

Championship positions (provisional) after Round 1

1 Melvyn Evans – 25 points2 Damian Cole – 223 Peter Lloyd – 204 Steve Simpson – 195 John Indri – 18