Metcalfe seals best result at INDY SX

Yoshimura Suzuki Racing celebrated its best night of Supercross so far this year in the AMA/ FIM Supercross Series at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on Saturday night as Brett Metcalfe raced his Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 to his first-ever Supercross-class heat race victory - and then brought home an impressive fourth place in the Main Event.

Going into his eight-lap heat race, the Australian came off the gate and got the holeshot, and then he held onto his lead to take victory.

Said Metcalfe: "We came in with a different approach with bike set-up this weekend and it was evident in my first lap of practice: I just felt so much-more comfortable and could really attack the track and ride the bike. I was really stoked; the Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 was running great. We got great starts and qualified the best we have all year. In the heat race we ripped the Holeshot and it felt awesome to get out there in front. I was able to hold on and get my first heat win of my 450 career. That was a big achievement for me."

In the 20-lap Main, Metcalfe continued to charge hard after getting another good launch, rode aggressively and battled for a podium position for the entire race, running as high as second place before succumbing to a bit of fatigue and finishing fourth.

"In the Main, I got another good start on the Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450. I came out of the corner about third or fourth. Then I was able to charge through and get up to second and ran up there for half the Main Event. Then I dropped back a few positions because I got tired holding everybody off, but I was fighting as hard as I could."

Metcalfe and the Yoshimura Suzuki squad hope to build on the momentum of their first Supercross heat race win and solid Main Event result as they head toward the series' next stop in Canada next weekend.

Added Metcalfe: "This weekend in Indy was a good start for us with the new set-up for the Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450. I'm looking forward to carrying this on to Toronto next weekend and I'm really stoked about that."

Team Yoshimura Suzuki Racing's next event is the 12th round of the 2012 AMA/ FIM Supercross Championship on Saturday, March 24th, at Rogers Centre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Indianapolis Supercross Class Results:

1. Ryan Villopoto 2. Justin Brayton 3. Davi Millsaps 4. Brett Metcalfe (Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450) 5. Cole Seely 6. Mike Alessi 7. Marvin Musquin 8. Broc Tickle 9. Weston Peick 10. Nico Izzi

2012 Supercross Class Standings:

1. Ryan Villopoto - 246 2. Ryan Dungey - 192 3. James Stewart - 177 4. Davi Millsaps - 151 5. Kevin Windham - 146 6. Justin Brayton - 143 7. Brett Metcalfe (Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450) - 142 8. Jake Weimer - 134 9. Chad Reed - 128 10. Mike Alessi - 128