Monster Energy MSA British Rallycross Championship

Round 1: Lydden Hill, 24 March

Former champion Ollie O’Donovan made a winning return to the championship at Lydden Hill, taking victory at the wheel of his Ford Focus Supercar.

O’Donovan led to the first corner and edged away as Andy Scott and reigning champion Julian Godfrey disputed second place. However, Godfrey spun at the chicane on the second lap and Scott’s Peugeot suffered a puncture, so former champion Pat Doran took an eventual second place.

Steve Mundy completed a magnificent day aboard of his self-built Focus by taking third ahead of Andy Grant. Supercar newcomer Steve Harris completed his first event successfully in sixth ahead of Scott and Godfrey.

Results1 Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Focus)2 Pat Doran (Citroën Xsara)3 Steve Mundy (Ford Focus)

Championship positions (provisional) after Round 11 Ollie O'Donovan – 20 points2 Pat Doran – 173 Steve Mundy – 154 Andy Grant – 135 Steve Hill – 12

Related Motorsport Articles

82,548 articles