Webster and Malvern help boost Formula Renault BARC grid to 25

Two of the country’s most exceptional young racing talents, Josh Webster (Stowmarket, Suffolk) and Scott Malvern (London), will both be on the grid for the opening three rounds of the Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship at Snetterton this weekend, 7th/8th April – helping boost the grid to an outstanding 25 cars.Along with the unexpected eleventh hour return of last year’s Vice-Champion Webster and the eagerly awaited series debut of reigning British Formula Ford Champion Malvern, leading squad Hillspeed has confirmed two new signings ahead of the weekend having completed deals with rising Danish star Jacob Nortoft and British racer Marcus Allen (Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire).Webster, who had been set to compete in the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship this year prior to the postponement of the series three weeks ago, will race for MGR Motorsport alongside David Wagner (Glasgow), Jake Dalton (Stoke-on-Trent) and James Fletcher (Windlesham, Surrey)Malvern will be reunited with the legendary Cliff Dempsey Racing team, which is returning to the ranks of Formula Renault this year, with backing from Cullen Motorsport. The two-time McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist will team-up with promising American 16-year-old Trent Hindman.Hillspeed, which won the Protyre Formula Renault BARC title with Alice Powell in 2010, has the capacity to field four cars and will have two on the grid at Snetterton for Nortoft and Allen. The Dane embarks on only his second season of car racing this year while Allen, the 2010 Formula Ford 1600 Castle Combe Champion, returns to racing after a year away to complete his college studies.In addition, MTECH Lite has confirmed Escuderia Telmex-backed Mexican teenager Jorge Cevallos will partner Sean Walkinshaw (Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire) and SWB Motorsport will be on the grid with Jack Dex (Daventry) who recently set the pace in the official pre-season test at Silverstone. Privateer runner Max Robinson (Northampton), meanwhile, will debut at Rockingham in May.Bringing the already sensational grid up to 25 registered entries for the first three races of the new season, championship promoter Simon North says attracting drivers the calibre of Webster and Malvern is a clear indication of the health and growing stature of Protyre Formula Renault BARC.“It’s absolutely fantastic for the championship to have Josh and Scott joining us”, said North, “It’s common knowledge they’re two of the UK’s very best single-seater drivers, we’re delighted to have them racing with us this year. Obviously we know Josh well from last year when he was very close to winning the championship and Scott’s record speaks for itself – it’ll be an intriguing season.“We always want to see as many of our teams on the grid as possible so we’re also delighted to see Hillspeed back with two cars and SWB with Jack, who did such a good job in the Silverstone test. All in all, this looks set to be a truly memorable season for Protyre Formula Renault BARC.”Qualifying for the first three rounds of the season at Snetterton 200 Circuit in Norfolk will get underway at 09.50 on Saturday, 7th April, with the first of the weekend’s races set to follow at 14.15. Rounds two and three will be held on Sunday, 8th April, at 11.35 and 15.55 respectively.Along with headline sponsor Protyre, Formula Renault BARC is additionally supported by Michelin, The Lubricant Consultancy, Petronas Syntium and NGK Spark Plugs.2012 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship entry list: Snetterton 200 – 7th/8th AprilNo./Driver /Nationality /Team

02  Chris Middlehurst/GBR/Middlehurst Motorsport GTR

03 Trent Hindman /USA /Cliff Dempsey Racing

04 Scott Malvern /GBR /Cliff Dempsey Racing w/Cullen Motorsport 

05 Ivan Taranov /RUS  /Antel Motorsport

06 Raoul Owens /GBR/Antel Motorsport

07 Tom Oliphant /GBR /Antel Motorsport

08 Henry Chart /GBR/Antel Motorsport  09 Josh Webster/GBR /MGR Motorsport

13Oliver Sirrell /GBR /ACS Motorsport 16 Henrique Baptista /BRA /Scorpio Motorsport

20 Macaulay Walsh/GBR /Scorpio Motorsport

21 Laura Tillett /GBR/Fortec Motorsport

25 Jake Dalton /GBR/MGR Motorsport  

26 Diego Menchaca /MEX /Fortec Motorsport

27  Jack Dex  /GBR/ SWB Motorsport/

30 Michael Epps  /GBR /JWA-Avila

31 Seb Morris/GBR /Fortec Motorsport  

33  Sean Walkinshaw /GBR /MTECH Lite

36 Jorge Cevallos/MEX/MTECH Lite

43  David Wagner /GBR /MGR Motorsport

44  Jacob Nortoft  /DEN/Hillspeed

49 Marcus Allen  /GBR/Hillspeed

55 Matt Tiffin /GBR /JWA-Avila

66 James Fletcher /GBR  /MGR Motorsport

88 Martin Cao  /CHN /Fortec Motorsport

Official website www.renaultsport.co.uk/championships/formularenaultbarc/  built by RacecarFollow us on Facebook www.facebook.com/pages/Formula-Renault-BARC/173881585980232

Related Motorsport Articles

83,716 articles