Newby Impresses On Manx National Rally

Despite his inexperience on asphalt, Carnforth rally driver Arron Newby showed his potential with a fantastic 14th place finish overall on his debut on the Manx National Rally.

Driving the Robert Wiseman Dairies and Pirelli sponsored Skoda, the 17 year old drew praise all round on his first proper event on tarmac which saw him claim the class R2 victory by over five minutes.

With the aim of perfecting his pacenote technique, Newby and Kendal co driver Martin Taylor did over 450 miles on the recce and it paid off as after Friday evening's eight stages he was inside the top 20 overall.

The teenager's good run continued on Saturday with only minor brake and overheating problems to report and at the end of the gruelling two-day event he had climbed to a brilliant 14th overall.

Arron Newby:  "To set times inside the top 11 and to finish 14th is a dream come true and just goes to show how good the car is.  Martin has helped me enormously in getting more experience on pacenotes and I'm very grateful to him as well as the team.  The Pirelli tyres have been brilliant and we only used six for the whole of the event.

"This has been a great shakedown for the Jim Clark Rally next month and I'm really looking forward to it."

Stuart Newby (Team Owner):  "The lad was the star of the Manx in a lot of people's opinion because to do what he did on these tricky Manx lanes was just brilliant.  We have won this event a number of times so we knew what a good base setting was but after that it was up to him.  He must have driven his balls off to get this result and there's not a scratch on the car, which when you consider it's only his first time here and on this surface, it's simply fantastic."

Results:1, Melvyn Evans/Aled Davies, Subaru Impreza, 1:36:58.32, Paul Bird/Kirsty Riddick, Ford Focus WRC, 1:38:17.13, Damian Cole/James Morgan, Ford Focus WRC, 1:41:47.94, John Stone/Rob Fagg, Skoda Fabia WRC, 1:43:04.25, Stephen Simpson/Patrick Walsh, Subaru Impreza, 1:43:30.36, Andrew Leece/Graham Fargher, Mitsubishi Evo 6, 1:43:53.414, Arron Newby/Martin Taylor, Skoda Fabia R2, 1:51:17.4